(17) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: The Chance to Explain

Seems like Andy was always having to explain something to Opie—often because he’d made a mistake and wanted to make things right. He was a good dad.

I  sometimes wonder, when folks who have read my writing meet me for the first time, if they are surprised at how inarticulate I am in talking.  Yes indeed, I definitely write better than I talk.  Sometimes, especially lately, carrying on even the most ordinary conversation is daunting to me.

This lack of lucidity sometimes leads to misunderstandings.  If I’m lucky, the person I’m talking to expresses their confusion or, in the very worst cases of my incoherence, when someone takes offense, they tell me outright what I said that offended them.  I appreciate that because it gives me a chance to make things right. I am always horrified when I discover that I’ve hurt someone’s feelings, however unintentional it was (and it is ALWAYS unintentional).

So I am thankful for a chance to explain myself.  Sometimes, even in writing, I don’t quite get my point across.  Even here on my blog.

So here’s where I want to say that yesterday’s post (about the joys of wordplay) praising my lovely limerick commenter was not meant to exclude my other commenters or to suggest that I valued that comment over the others.  I didn’t (although, of course, I was delighted by the limerick).  Seriously, I am STILL amazed that people take the time out of their busy lives to read what I write and even better, to comment on it.  I truly treasure every single comment I get.  You really have no idea what they mean to me.

So, thank goodness for the chance to explain, for the chance to make things right.   As one of the sometimes tongue-tied ones, I am grateful for second chances.

3 Responses to “(17) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: The Chance to Explain”

  1. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    I never thought for a second that you were excluding any commenters…. I think you do have a gift of writing –and you need to celebrate it, Beth…

    I laughed at your asking for a chance to explain.. My entire marriage to George has been one of me trying to explain.. He is VERY accurate and VERY smart… I’m more general with my explanations –and he doesn’t understand. For instance, I will give directions by saying something like: “Go down about 3 blocks or so, and turn right at the red house”…. George has to have the EXACT street and mileage…. ha ha —You can imagine how my generalization drives him crazy (and vice versa)…. Tee Hee.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Benjamin Says:

    That’s for sure. I love the picture, too.

  3. Plowing Through Life (Martha) Says:

    That never even crossed my mind, Beth, but it shows me what a sensitive and thoughtful person you are. And even if you singled out one comment now and again, it’s not a big deal. Sometimes a comment from an individual stands out and we take notice, but it doesn’t mean we don’t appreciate the others.

Leave a Reply

