What is Essential Is Invisible to the Eye

My kind friend, Wesley, at Mountain Mama, has graciously nominated me for a Blogger Reflection Award.  I’m honored, humbled, and most grateful.  Thank you, Wesley.  Mountain Mama herself received an award and richly deserves it.  She writes insightful, honest, compelling prose and takes lovely photographs of the mountain landscape and her beautiful children.

The rules say I’m supposed to nominate someone else.  So, without further ado, I nominate Ariel at Lucky Pennies.  I chose her because she ponders, and she writes about those ponderings in a perceptive, discerning manner–at the ripe old age of nineteen. Check out her posts on s’mores and Christianity and on elitist pointy-heads.  She is also a mighty fine artist.

The main reason I’m honoring Ariel, though, is because I want to honor Ernie.  Ariel wrote beautifully about Ernie here.  Ernie was our dear friend.  She was blind, but had a clearer and deeper vision than most sighted people.  She was free of the judgments that most people make based on appearance.  She saw rightly, with her heart.

In this vain world, where so many venerate overindulged athletes and shallow Hollywood stars who often pimp their souls for the highest dollar, I want to ring a bell for Ernie.  She was kind, thoughtful, true, and courageous.  And she adored my children.  She died over three years ago, and we still grieve her.

So I honor Ariel to honor Ernie.  I’d really be grateful if you would honor our dear friend Ernie, too, by bearing witness to who she was.

4 Responses to “What is Essential Is Invisible to the Eye”

  1. luckypennies Says:

    Thank you very much for the award. I really appreciate it.

    Ernie did indeed have a clearer and deeper vision than almost anyone I know. I miss her so much.

  2. June Says:

    I really enjoyed reading about Ernie. I would have liked to have known her – and learned from her.

  3. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Of course you deserve it, and so does Ariel!

    I think I would like Ernie.

  4. ben (aka guitar maniac) Says:

    AMEN!

Leave a Reply

