A small, wobbly step into the blogosphere

Hi there.  If you’re reading this, that means that, against all odds (with all the other gazillion blogs you could have clicked on), you have clicked through to my humble little corner of the blogosphere.  Thank you.  I am most grateful.

Though I have been reading other folk’s blogs for a couple of years now, I’ve resisted the thought of having my own.  While I enjoyed reading about the minutia of the lives of people all over the world, I somehow couldn’t imagine that they’d be interested in mine.  I lead a quiet life here in the heart of Appalachia.  My idea of a big time is sitting on my porch watching fireflies (there are a gracious plenty here) or walking in autumn through the old abandoned apple orchard above our house and gathering those wormy, wizened apples that, though blemished, make very tasty apple bread. 

Really, though, what kept me, up to now, from starting my own blog was fear.  Just plain fear.  So many of the bloggers I read sound like professional writers.  Their ruminations on life are perfectly formed essays, whereas mine might sound more like something I wrote for my seventh grade English class.  And one thing I have noticed is that most bloggers seem to be middle and upper-middle class, college-educated people.  I am not.  I graduated high school and have worked as a library assistant, a secretary, and a janitor.  My husband is a carpenter.  We both love books and learning, but neither of us graduated from college.  It is rather intimidating to put your writing out there for all to see when the most advanced training you’ve had was how to write a ten-page term paper for your final twelfth-grade English project.  
 
Nevertheless, I want more than anything to be a writer.  Someday, I hope to take a college class in writing, but for now, I’ll make this blog my training ground.  Who knows, maybe my writing will get better.  Maybe someone will read my words and have suggestions for making them better.  Maybe I’ll gain confidence   Maybe I’ll make a friend.  I’ve already been fortunate enough to find kinship with one fellow reader and writer through just reading blogs.  (Hi, Wesley!)
 
Or maybe I’ll simply have a sense of accomplishment from overcoming my fear, from stepping out of my comfort zone, and from taking that one tentative, wobbly step towards the day when I feel like I can call myself a writer. 
 
So, if you’re still reading, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  I sure hope you keep reading.  I’ll do my best not to disappoint you.

29 Responses to “A small, wobbly step into the blogosphere”

  1. colleen Says:

    My collar is blue too. I’ve been blogging for a couple of years now and I do credit it for giving me the confidence to sell more freelanced writing.

    Welcome to the biggest water cooler on the planet, or in our case a hose.

  2. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Wow, Colleen, you’re my very first comment! Thank you so much for visiting. I’m honored. I’ve always enjoyed your stories of life in Floyd. If I didn’t love the North Carolina mountains so much, I’d probably move to Floyd! (Though I’d have to brush up on my Scrabble game!)

  3. luckypennies Says:

    This looks like the beginnings of a most excellent blog. I can’t wait to see what you come up with in the future! 🙂

  4. ben (aka guitar maniac) Says:

    I tend to disagree with your self-deprecation, however modest it may be…
    In my humble, college boy opinion, your writing is on the level of a PhD.
    And everybody’s scared of blogs at first…posting your soul’s ruminations for any random guy to see! Good luck, and godspeed.

  5. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Why, thank you Luckypennies and Ben(aka guitar maniac)!
    ***In the interests of full disclosure, I should reveal here that both Luckypennies and Ben(aka guitar maniac) are my children, who possibly may not be entirely unbiased in their opinions. Nor am I entirely unbiased in my opinions of them. Benjamin is not only intelligent and kind, but is an incredible guitar player. Ariel is a very gifted visual artist and writer who in fact has her own blog: http://luckypennies.wordpress.com/
    I am pleased as punch that they’re reading my blog, since they both have a busy schedule at college.***
    I love you two!

  6. Marie Says:

    And I’m not one of your children and don’t know you and am tickled to death that someone like me, dares to jump into the blog waters. Most of the sharks are friendly and the only advise I have is to be honest and true with your words/photos and you won’t shed blood because of this experience–instead, you should find the fishing quite good, at least I hope you do. I have.
    Yay you!

  7. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Marie, I am so happy that you visited my blog. I eagerly click on your blog at least twice a day to see what new mountain wonder you have photographed. Thank you so much for the way you capture time and light for our pleasure.

  8. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Well a great big hey there to you! I’m so happy to see you venturing into the blogosphere! Hooray hooray!
    Now I get to hear about your life and thoughts even more (but please don’t stop sending me letters–I love them).

  9. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Oh…and the John Muir quote is one of my favorites!

  10. wesleyjeanne Says:

    One more thing…I agree with Ben and I’m not one of your children either! Your writing is better than many so-called professionals out there. Please share some of your poetry with us as you go along in blogland.

  11. fred1st Says:

    Wade on in. You’ll find the current to carry you where you want to go, and lots of fellow travelers to meet along the way. I always have to keep in mind that the blog is as much for my own purposes of storytelling to myself as it is for a broader audience. As Marie says, just keep authentic and draw from whatever comes from day to day. I look back and marvel at the trivia pursuits I’ve written about–and had a ball doing it!

  12. lucky pennies Says:

    PS: I agree with Wesley wholeheartedly…we want to see your poetry too! If you don’t post it, I guess I’ll have to because it’s so incredibly good.

    PSS: I am definitely not biased in the least.

    PSSS: This is probably the best blog I’ve ever seen.

  13. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Oh my, I am just overwhelmed. Thank you all for your very kind comments. Honestly, I am actually blushing with pleasure. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I’ve read them all, like, twenty times! And I realized, as I read them for the twenty-first time that every single one of my favorite bloggers commented on mine! And that truly thrills me. Thank you again. (However, Miss Lucky Pennies, I must call into question your assertion that you are not biased.)

  14. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    OK, so I know I just commented, but…well…my last comment made 13 comments on my first post. I hate to admit it, but I am just superstitious enough to not want to leave it with thirteen. Hence, this post. Which, of course, makes fourteen
    (she said brilliantly).

  15. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Let’s make it 15. Don’t worry, I always read my comments over and over, too, and I’ve been blogging for over two years.

  16. lucky pennies Says:

    Heck, let’s make it sixteen!

    I am not biased, thank you very much.

  17. ben (aka guitar maniac) Says:

    Has anyone got a problem with seventeen?

  18. ronbailey Says:

    Hey Beth, great job with the blog! I saw Colleen’s link this morning, so I thought I’d wander by and say hello…

    Keep up the good work!

  19. Cathy Says:

    Your comments crack me up…this is so funny!!
    Yesterday I made a batch of salsa and ended up with thirteen jars. All I kept thinking was should I throw a jar out??….. does this mean the whole batch is no good??..I wish I could have squeezed out one more jar. LOL

    I love this post….you manged to write exactly what I feel. Needless to say I have no blog yet, but you have inspired me. I am thinking of taking the plunge. Thank you for giving me the courage to step in. Keep writing and I will keep coming back ….you do it so well.

  20. bluemountainmama Says:

    welcome, welcome, welcome…. i’m over from colleen’s, too. i had similar trepidations when i started a little less than a year ago. it’s been a wonderful journey, though….as i’m sure yours will be!

  21. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    ronbailey: Thank you so much for your kind words and for adding me to your blogroll! I am pleased and honored and will strive to be worthy of it.

    Cathy: I felt tears spring to my eyes when I read your comments. To think that my words may have actually inspired someone kind of like me to write and to start their own blog is just thrilling. And your kind words about my writing…you have no idea what that means to me. So, thank you. Please let me know when you start your blog. I’m looking forward to it. (And that was really funny about the salsa! Did you notice that today is the 13th? Ha, ha)

    bluemountainmama: Thanks so much for the friendly welcome! I’ve found blogging to be a pretty good trip so far!

  22. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Welcome to blogging! I started earlier this year, and I now have several blogs. It’s that addicting. I believe you must be a natural writer. When you really, really want to write … just do it. Then the more you do it, the better you become. When my now-grown children were little, I decided I could be a freelance writer. I was published in a national magazine, but it seemed to me that perhaps it would be easier to get published if I had a degree. That’s when I went back to college. Notice … it was AFTER being published that I got the degree, which is a nice piece of paper to have when you want to get your foot in the door at some places. As far as writing goes, it was more a matter of sitting down and doing it than anything else. The degree just gave me a bit more confidence to continue. You go, girl!

    ~~~ Bonnie in Chattanooga,
    here because Colleen linked to your blog,
    and I’m adding you to my daily reading links

  23. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    I owe Colleen a great debt–she has sent the nicest people my way!

    Bonnie: Thank you, thank you for your kind encouragment and for your wonderful vote of confidence in adding me to your daily reading links. I will try very hard to make you glad that you did! I will surely be reading your fourth sentence over and over: “I believe you must be a natural writer.” I appreciate more than you can know your saying that. Even though I’ve only been blogging for a week now, I have already noticed that writing gets a tiny bit easier every day. Blogging provides both a pat on the back and a kick in the butt for me, in that it forces me to write whether I feel like it or not. By the way, your blog looks very interesting. As you might imagine, I love books, so I look forward to reading about new ones on your blog. I plan to check my library right away for Jodi Picoult. Thanks for the recommendation. And thanks for reading my blog!

  24. June Says:

    This entry resonated so much with me! I particularly related to the part where you held back because (a) who would possibly be interested in what is going on in my world, and (b) everyone else’s writing seemed so much more developed than mine. Well, as it turns out, I don’t have too many readers, but I find I’m enjoying the act of writing regardless. It’s hard to explain, but it’s like this well that has been cooped up inside has finally gotten a venue to come out and play. I too thank Colleen for her support. She has, on more than one occasion, reassured my timid soul. Looking forward to keeping up with you…

  25. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    June: Your comment resonated with me! I know exactly what you mean about how writing has given sweet release to your soul. The well metaphor is perfect. I do feel as though a well that I thought was dry is beginning, day by day, to trickle forth and sometimes even flow! I enjoy your blog and look forward to reading it further. Thank you for reading mine.

  26. Shannon Hodgins Says:

    Oh, you’ve got such a voice. I clicked on one of your comments from Moutain Mama and just discovered a jewel. Man, can I write like you!

    P.S. I’m a librarian. I *love* encountering people that love libraries too.

    Blogging is an interesting world of fun. Actually, it seems to become a community on it’s own steam.

    And note, if you get a yucky comment just always remember it’s a big wide world. You’re going to find so much more enjoyment then anything negative.

    Good thoughts, Shannon

  27. A Year Into the Journey « Blue Ridge Blue Collar Girl Says:

    […] hard to believe that it’s been a full year since I wrote my first post, A Small Wobbly Step Into  the Blogosphere.   I was quite apprehensive and anxious.  It’s not easy to make yourself so vulnerable.  But […]

  28. Jeff Says:

    And now you’ve inspired me to set up my own blog! I don’t know how my adventure will turn out, but it will be interesting to look back, in a year, at how my blog works out. You write very well, indeed. Even though I have a college degree, I wouldn’t recommend the expense or time to “improve” your skills. You already have excellent writing skills, which I would attribute to your love of reading. I’m sure that you spend a lot of time on your posts before submitting them, as very few writers that I know just spontaneously gush forth with wonderful essays. Writing, for me, is a laborious process. Red Smith, the famous sports writer, once said (and I paraphrase) that writing is easy. You just open a vein and let the blood pour out. Instead of college, I would encourage you to explore the idea of writer’s workshops and seminars. No doubt there are places close at hand where lovers of the English language gather to share thoughts and offer encouragement. Writing can be lonely at times, but it is such fun to see your labors appreciated by others!

  29. Benjamin Says:

    I like that idea of a big time.

Leave a Reply

