(28) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Imagination

Imagination is a wonderful thing. It enables you to see things that others may not see.

There’s no way I can describe in just a few paragraphs just how essential my imagination has been to me (even to my very survival) but I really can’t end my Thirty Days of Grateful Praise without mentioning it.

No need to rehash it here, but my childhood was difficult in many ways, and I cannot tell you just how many times I found refuge in the realm of my imagination.  I was often called a “dreamy” child, but it wasn’t so much that I was dreaming, but that I was inhabiting an internal world that was infinitely more friendly and easy to live in than the tumultuous world outside my head.

I go there often, even now, though I’m no longer a defenseless child.  It’s still a pretty wonderful place to be.  Imagination is a place of such unlimited possibilities; you are not limited by what you see with your eyes.  Because sometimes what you don’t see is even more interesting than what you do.

With my imagination, I am never alone.  It’s a lively and often entertaining place.  Several  years ago, I wrote a post where I compared the thoughts that constantly go through my head to the cars of a runaway circus train.   Almost anything I see or hear will inspire a constant parade of images in my mind.  Just recently, for example, I was reading someone’s account of the vacation they’d spent on a farm.  She wrote of just how much her children enjoyed getting eggs from the chickencoupe”.  Which, of course, should have been chicken “coop”, but thank goodness it wasn’t because the phrase chicken coupe triggered the most delightful image in my mind of a couple of well-dressed chickens tootling down the road behind the wheel of their lovely chicken car.  The rooster was wearing a bow tie and fedora; the hen, a flowered hat.  Poultry in motion.  The image made me laugh and laugh.

And now I’m imagining that you’re laughing, too, because you’re envisioning your own silly images of chickens in a roadster.  And I can tell you that imagining that makes me very happy, too.

6 Responses to “(28) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Imagination”

  1. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Oh Yes—–I am laughing with you since I have a huge imagination also….. What is life without an imagination?????

    Great post.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Inspired by your imaginative vision, I went searching for a “chicken coupe” and found one with an “eggshaust” here:

    http://www.brainlesstales.com/2012-07-09/chicken-coupe

    You are so funny! I’m glad I know you. I’ve enjoyed your extremely creative imagination with those eyes stuck on all sorts of things, and the sock monkey creation you use as your profile picture.

    • Benjamin Says:

      Thanks Bonnie. That picture definitely feeds the imagination. That chicken coupe needs some fixin’ up. He needs to get himself a mechanic chicken wife!

  3. Darla Says:

    LOL I love your imagination, too, Beth! ;-) “Poultry in motion” — fabulous…

  4. Plowing Through Life (Martha) Says:

    Hahaha…I love your imagination, Beth! I have one that’s similar. Couldn’t imagine life without it. It would be far less interesting — and entertaining :)

  5. Benjamin Says:

    From a carrot that wants to be an elephant seal to the clown festival of a childhood tooth-brushing argument…both the purposeful and accidental images that we have shared.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers