(19) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: The Fierce Courage of Animal Parents

A very brave mockingbird

Here at the Doublewide Ranch, we often hear the loud, raucous caws of many crows and look up to see them chasing away a hawk that’s dared to venture into our songbird sanctuary.  Occasionally, a few mockingbirds and even bluejays will join in to chase off the intruder.

We recently heard the sound of crows and mockingbirds in an uproar and looked out to see that a broadwing hawk had landed on the bamboo bean poles in the garden next to the grape arbor.  We were astonished to see two mockingbirds bravely dive-bombing the hawk.  We  took a couple of pictures before it dawned on us that the mockingbird’s fierce courage in facing down the hawk very likely meant that they had some babies nearby, perhaps in the grape arbor.  I could see that the broadwing wasn’t going anywhere and the mockingbirds seemed more and more distressed, so I put down my camera and ran towards the grape arbor with my mightiest and most savage roar.  Benjamin said I sounded like a Viking warrior.

I don’t know if it was my Viking war cry or the crazed look in my eyes, but the hawk lifted off quickly.  The mockingbirds chased him until he was a small dot in the sky.  It was gratifying to feel like I’d played a part in saving the little mockingbird babies…and it felt pretty good to roar like that, too. :-)

I was most impressed, though, by Mom and Dad Mockingbird.  I am grateful for our animal parents and their fierce courage.

A future brave mockingbird

8 Responses to “(19) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: The Fierce Courage of Animal Parents”

  1. natureintheburbs Says:

    I’ve done some similar roaring! Enjoyed your post.

  2. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    There is LOTS and LOTS of joy in birding for sure!!!!! Our crows and jays do the same thing… Anytime a hawk is around —they holler and holler–and scare him off. They seem to be protecting all of the little songbirds… That is just so neat!!!!!

    Love the baby Mocker… Too Cute.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Great shots! I loved the image of you running and roaring! Good for you! Mom and Dad Mockingbird love you for it.

  4. Sharon Says:

    This year, for the first time ever, I’ve had a terrible time keeping WOODPECKERS off my hummingbird feeders!! Your comment about Benjamin saying you sounded like a Viking warrior reminded me of Bill telling me virtually the same thing when I jump up (scaring him to death) and run for the door yelling, “get off the feeder NOW!” Go figure!! Do birds have identity issues?? LOL!

  5. Plowing Through Life (Martha) Says:

    Hahaha…I have an image in my head of you running and roaring like a Viking warrior. Very cool. I must say I’ve had a few of those moments, too. I’m so glad the story has a happy ending, and all members of the mockingbird family are okay. Phew… I was on edge for awhile, worried about them all. Those babies are adorable.

  6. Darla Says:

    Delightful photo essay!

  7. Rider Says:

    Every posting in your “Thirty Days of Grateful Praise” series is perfectly written. Every one is special. Still, this posting stands out among all the other special postings.

    We, your readers, already knew that you’re intelligent, loving, and extraordinarily protective of your home and family. This posting teaches us that you’re also protective of everything weak and beautiful on your property. It teaches us through the story of the baby mockingbird and the broadwing hawk.

    If only you had been in the Garden of Eden, Ms. Blue. Then the story of the serpent would have ended differently.

  8. Benjamin Says:

    :-D Broadwing says, OMG!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers