(13) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Electricity

Oh no! The electricity went out! Whatever shall we do??

(the above picture from this post: http://blueridgebluecollargirl.wordpress.com/2007/10/14/the-faces-that-launched-a-thousand-quips/)

I was going to write about something else, but guess whose electricity went out?

On a bright, sunny day, no less, but that seems to be the way of it out here in the country.  I generally take it in stride, but today, I was in the middle of so many things, all of which require electricity, so it was a little more troublesome than usual.  For those of us with wells, losing power means losing water, so perhaps this would be a good time to express my thanks, too, for the clear, cold, fresh water that normally flows so freely through my pipes.

We take so much for granted in this country.  So I think it’s good for us to be inconvenienced sometimes, to be startled out of complacency.  I was.  And even if I felt a little cranky, it did make me more aware of how blessed I am, so it was a good thing.  And I think I can say that I’m grateful for it, too.

6 Responses to “(13) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Electricity”

  1. Ariel Says:

    I am thankful for googly-eye-loving goofs who post silly pictures that make me happy!

  2. Plowing Through Life (Martha) Says:

    Hahaha…I love that photo! Made me laugh out loud :)

    Oh, yes, thank goodness for electricity! We really do take it for granted.

  3. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Yes—we are spoiled and we do take things for granted, don’t we? Electricity and clean water are two things which we use and seldom really appreciate—UNTIL they are not with us!!!!!

    Great Grateful Praise, Beth….
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    You are such fun! I’m thankful for you in my life (and my blog reading life), and I’m thankful my sister’s stroke Friday was not worse. Read about it here:

    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2012/07/sunday-salon-raging-rain-and-new-books.html

  5. CountryDew Says:

    Electricity is such a necessity. I hope yours was not out long. We have those weird outages, too, and they can be very frustrating. We’re also on a well and that is the biggest problem, lack of water.

  6. Kay G. Says:

    The power went out during the Atlanta Braves game on Friday night and they showed commericials for about 20 minutes and I could not figure out what was going on! We take so much for granted. I am so grateful for electricity!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers