(10) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Just-Picked Vegetables for Supper

As plainly can be seen, our green beans are not green.

We planted three kinds of green beans in the garden this year, but only one of them was green.  Yes, not only are there purple green beans, but  yellow ones, too.  I relished the thought of how lovely the multi-hued beans would look in my bright blue serving bowl, but, alas, both the purple and the yellow beans turn green when cooked.  I was quite disappointed, but once I tasted their fresh buttery green goodness, I decided that it didn’t matter.  Besides, green is my favorite color anyway.

I am very grateful to be able to eat vegetables that only an hour before were basking in the afternoon sun.  Somehow, it always seems I can still taste in them the earth and the sun and the rain.  Yes, and maybe even the wind, too.

12 Responses to “(10) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Just-Picked Vegetables for Supper”

  1. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    I’ve never seen any green beans that started out a different color…. Glad they tasted good though… I love almost ANY home-grown veggie… YUM.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Chris Says:

    I’ve got a big patch of the purple ones, think I’ll be canning and making dilly beans. So thankful!

  3. Chris Says:

    Your photographs are even more stunning if possible. You have a gift, a wonderful eye for composition.

  4. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    I’ve never seen purple green beans. How interesting!

    I ate a tomato for supper that was definitely NOT homegrown. Almost tasteless. The ones I used to grow tasted great. Donna (my friend) and I recently ate at the Vietnamese restaurant of our friend Rosa and her husband, and Rosa added extra tomatoes to our salads, telling us that she grew them herself. They were delicious! Really wonderful. I don’t know how she finds time to garden, since the two of them run the restaurant by themselves. But I’m thankful she did, because those were the best tomatoes I’ve eaten in years.

    Oh, by the way, we went that day to congratulate Rosa, because their restaurant got a 100 inspection rating that was reported in the Chattanooga daily newspaper. That is extremely rare!

  5. Plowing Through Life (Martha) Says:

    I never knew there were purple green beans. That is so interesting! Too bad they don’t stay purple when cooked.

    Yes, nothing like vegetables grown in your own garden. They taste so much better!

  6. Sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    It is such a blessing to pick straight from the garden and be able to feed your family with something you grew. I love it when my kids and I eat our raspberries and tomatoes right in the garden, so warm from the sun. There is just something about it, isn’t there?

  7. Sharon Says:

    I’m envious that you have a garden. Thankfully, this is the season our veggies are straight from the farmers market, so at least we can talk to the people who grew them.

    Sure hope this series gets you in the habit of posting more often. I certainly enjoy your writing.

  8. CountryDew Says:

    I enjoy our garden, too, though not necessarily the work that goes into it! But the food is great. I had never seen purple beans before.

  9. Darla Says:

    Aren’t the purple lovely? When we were still in Maine, there was an organic grower just down the road and I loved getting their purple beans! LOL I love the word “basking”…thanks for reminding me of it…doesn’t it evoke relaxation? And of course the wind is in the taste, too…they’re *beans* after all…lots of ‘air’ in there! HA!

  10. Jes Says:

    Just picked vegetables are truly a blessing–I love that you planted a rainbow of beans! I never got green/purple/yellow beans into the garden this year but they are on my list for next year. I’m definitely going to have to plant the purple ones, so vibrant!

  11. birdsandbenjamin Says:

    Taste good, too… You make the best. Thanks!

  12. Ariel Says:

    I found something that delighted me yesterday. I was walking to my ride, and nestled among the carefully pruned and tended UNC landscaping was a fully grown tomato plant with two big green tomatoes on it. I think someone threw out the tomato from their sandwich and the seeds sprung up, and the landscapers just let it grow instead of pulling it up. I’m going to have some fresh tomatoes soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers