(6) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Living in the Mountains

(This was at Mount Mitchell on Benjamin’s Birthday Roadtrip in May.  It was a lovely, lovely day.)

We gave up a lot to move to our beloved mountains.  We came here because every time we visited the Blue Ridge, we felt like we were home.  So, as soon as we were able, we moved west.  We came home.

Although it’s been hard in many ways, we’ve never regretted it.  How could we when there are views like this to rest our eyes against on a regular basis? How could we as we watch the way the light and shadows dance and play over the blue and green ridges as the clouds move and tumble across the deep blue sky?  That alone is enough for me.  That alone is sufficient.

10 Responses to “(6) Thirty Days of Grateful Praise: Living in the Mountains”

  1. Darla Says:

    “when there are views like this to rest our eyes against” . . . ahhhh, yes indeed . . . .

  2. Chris Says:

    Sufficient for me too.

  3. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Amen…… I totally agree with you. I lived down south (FL, LA and TX) for many years —and cried sometimes since I missed the mountains and season changes so much.. Glad I finally moved back here. LOVE it….

    Mt. Mitchell is such a gorgeous place. We’ve been there several times.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    I love the mountains and raised my children on Signal Mountain, just outside Chattanooga, which sits in a sort of bowl of mountains. Whenever I moved away, like to Atlanta for three years to get my master’s degree from Emory University, I was ecstatic to come home over Missionary Ridge and see my town laid out in front of me. I’m used to sunrises over ridges and sunsets over other mountains. Right now, I live in the valley near where all my children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren live. But anywhere I go, I can still see my mountains.

  5. Plowing Through Life (Martha) Says:

    Amen to that, Beth. Just looking at those mountains in your photo give me a sense of peace. They are breathtaking.

  6. Bikbik & Roro Says:

    > How could we when there are views like this to rest our eyes against on a regular basis?
    O, you bet. Breathtaking, awe-inspiring, magnificent.

  7. WayneWymore Says:

    Love that double rainbow :) Being grateful for rainbows…!

  8. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    The other night I saw a frog. All of a sudden his tongue flew out and he ate a bug. It cracked me up.

  9. Clara Melvin Says:

    I love Mount Michell.

  10. birdsandbenjamin Says:

    I’m glad to see you chose my favorite shot from Mt. Mitchell! :-) !!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers