Spring Comes to the Doublewide Ranch

“So Spring must dawn again with warmth and bloom,

In this world, or in the world to come:    

Sing, voice of Spring,

Till I too blossom and rejoice and sing.”

From “The First Spring Day” by Christina Rossetti

Well, I was going to make this a sort of Wordless Wednesday post, but I think I really need to tell the story behind the photo above.  Benjamin and I were walking up the driveway when he started laughing.  He then said, “Thank you, Mommy.”

“For what?” I said, puzzled.

I noticed then that he was looking down.  Following his gaze, I saw it: a smiley-face anthill!

Now, I can well understand why he might have thought I did it, as I have certainly been a party in the past to a number of, shall we say…whimsical alterations.  I love nothing better than to make people laugh and will go to great lengths to amuse those I love, especially my children.  But I love my ant friends and would never stoop to defacing their lovely and careful construction for a laugh.

Benjamin and I were both amused and amazed, as neither of us has seen anything like it.  I, in fact, spent hours as a child watching ants—I have always been fascinated by them—-and I can say that a smiley-face anthill is a definite anomaly (or should I say ant-nomaly?). The funniest thing is that, to me, the little smiley face looks like he’s winking.

We’ll probably never know how it happened, but we like to think that it was Divine Humor at work again.  No one knows better than God how much we need a laugh these days and just how much we need to know HE is aware of our need.  Indeed, God does work in mysterious ways His wonders to perform, and He can certainly use anyone and anything to carry out those daily miracles—-even tiny and seemingly insignificant ants.

20 Responses to “Spring Comes to the Doublewide Ranch”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    Dear Beth,
    I really love the poem by Christina Rossetti and the beautiful photos that you have posted here.
    I wonder if that could be some kind of animal track that could have made that perfect smiley face that is even winking? But, no matter how it was made, I am happy that you shared it….a tiny miracle.

  2. Chris Says:

    A winking wonder, how wonderful!

  3. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Hi Beth, Divine humor at its best…. Love the smiley ant hill!!!!!! Love all of your spring pictures… Even the spring storms remind us all of spring… Love the birdies too!!!!

    Great post.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. bonniejacobs Says:

    I love the dark clouds and the divine humor. Your photos are wonderful, as they always are. Thank you are making my day.

  5. June Says:

    Beth, your posts and photos are as beautiful as ever.

  6. Nancy Says:

    Beth, your spirit and your pictures always make my day…but even better, just “hearing” from you again brightens my heart!

  7. Plowing Through Life Says:

    That’s such a beautiful poem, Beth. And those photos make my soul smile. Spring is my favourite time of year – a season of promise and hope and renewal. That smiley-face anthill is amazing! I like to believe that it’s divine ‘humour’ as well. It makes it that much more wonderful.

  8. bluecollarworkman Says:

    Dude, did you take those pictures? They’re awesome! They look like what you see in magazines or on nature documentaries. It’s out of place for a guy like me to get poetic or whatever about nature… but that smiley face ant hill makes me think that nature, too, has a whimsical funny character to it. If you have a sense of humor :-)

  9. Sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    A God sent smile? Could be!

    Great pictures. You have a wonderful eye, Beth. Thanks for sharing a little bit of heaven with us.

  10. birdsandbenjamin Says:

    Thank you!

    That flicker looks intense–I think he tried to swipe some ants…

  11. Bikbik & Roro Says:

    o wow, I’m so glad I found your lovely blog; I am now following it! you may be interested to know *how* I found your blog — it was while looking up the following words: “injured nerves long time heal”. yup. I injured my intercostal muscles and nerves, and I was led to your bear hug post. I think it might have been God’s way of saying, “Enough of that — check out this beautiful blog instead!”

  12. Bikbik & Roro Says:

    that anthill is indeed wonderful — a smile, or a wink even, from God to cheer, comfort and reaffirm that He is there, and He knows. and dear Beth, we can most certainly pray for each other! you know, this post sort of reminds me of this antsy post of mine — http://bikbikroro.blogspot.com/2011/09/go-to-ant.html have a blessed Good Friday and Easter weekend :)

  13. Sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    Happy Easter to you and your family, Beth! We just got back today from visiting family out of state so my brother (the one from the Navy) is cooking for us today. Am I spoiled, or what?!

    Have a wonderful day with your family.

  14. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    What a great thing to find! You know I think it was one of the signs!

    I am also intrigued by ants. When I was a kid in Jersey City, I’d actually run home and get sugar and put it around the ant hills when I’d find one in the crack of the sidewalk. Then I’d watch them carry the grains. The neighbors probably hated me–feeding the ants! lol

  15. Bikbik & Roro Says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Beth, and for thinking of us. It has been pouring torrentially, and the lightning and thunder are certainly awe-inspiring, but we did not feel any tremors, thank the Lord. I trust you are having a wonderful, blessed day, *hug*

  16. Darla Says:

    Exquisite photos! And a lovely poem to begin the post…
    Isn’t Nature amazing beyond comprehension? Smiling with you…

  17. vickilane Says:

    Such beautiful pictures and a loverly little essay too! Happy Spring, Beth!

  18. Jeff Says:

    I was taking a break from my labors while working on my property and turned slightly to see an eastern bluebird not 15′ from me. Such a gorgeous bird! Love your photography, as always. I hope you haven’t had a freeze that damaged the early blooms!

  19. Amy Says:

    Hello…I’m new to your blog, I found it through Bikbik and Roro (I love to read comments). I’m new to Virginia, our family is transplanted from CA, but your pictures are beautiful and your words so inspiring. Our family has had a very rough time too, but my faith is growing. I’ll be reading lots more! Happy Saturday!
    xo,Amy

  20. Clara Melvin Says:

    Hi Beth, The ant hill made me smile too. I am always making smiley faces. I always make one in my “pone” bread. Thanks for all of the beautiful phots.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers