“A Lot of It’s Mighty Fine…”

That was rough…. Thing to do now is try and forget it…. I guess I don’t quite mean that. It’s not a thing you can forget. Maybe not even a thing you want to forget…. Life’s like that sometimes… Now and then for no good reason a man can figure out, life will just haul off and knock him flat, slam him agin’ the ground so hard it seems like all his insides is busted. But it’s not all like that. A lot of it’s mighty fine, and you can’t afford to waste the good part frettin’ about the bad. That makes it all bad…. Sure, I know – sayin’ it’s one thing and feelin’ it’s another. But I’ll tell you a trick that’s sometimes a big help. When you start lookin’ around for something good to take the place of the bad, as a general rule you can find it.

~From the movie Old Yeller

Yes, oh yes.  Indeed.  A lot of it IS mighty fine.  Including you, my kind, compassionate, and understanding readers.  You (and your comments on my last post) are mighty fine…and I thank you.

More mighty fine things…

A mighty fine bubble (blown by my mighty fine daughter) with a mighty fine view

My mighty fine beloved family on a mighty fine hike—at Black Balsam in 2009

A mighty fine unexpected note from a mighty fine person

Another mighty fine note with some mighty fine music from a mighty fine friend.

A mighty fine woodpecker with a mighty fine Mohawk

Same mighty fine woodpecker digs for mighty fine bugs

Mighty fine woodpecker drills mighty fine hole for mighty fine bugs

Some mighty fine clematis.

A mighty fine life.

14 Responses to ““A Lot of It’s Mighty Fine…””

  1. clairz Says:

    Smiles! Love that big hold made by the woodpecker.

  2. Jes Says:

    Those are some mighty fine photographs! Love those woodpecker shots!

  3. Jayne Says:

    A mighty fine post by a mighty fine Blue Ridge girl. :c)

  4. Plowing Through Life Says:

    Lots of mighty fine things here today! Beautiful photos, Beth. They put a mighty fine smile on my face. I’m so happy to see so much happiness in today’s post, and hope that you feel like this day in and day out. (Love the quote from the movie ‘Old Yeller’. Pretty much says it all.)

  5. Sharon Says:

    I’m sorry that life is dealing you a rough hand right now, Beth. I thought of you when I read this on The Writer’s Almanac this morning:

    It’s the birthday of Russian poet Anna Akhmatova (books by this author), born in Odessa in 1889. In her poem “The Sentence,” she wrote:

    Today I have so much to do
    I must kill memory once and for all
    I must turn soul to stone
    I must learn to live again
    Unless … Summer’s ardent rustling
    Is like a festival outside my window.
    For a long time I’ve foreseen this
    Brilliant day, deserted house.
    (translated by Judith Hemschemeyer)

  6. The Southern Lady Says:

    Hi Beth, It’s a mighty fine day for me when I see you have put up some great photos of your family and that woodpecker is amazing. I just love woodpeckers. They totally fascinate me. I truly hope things are much better and you are at least feeling much better. Thinking of you in your beautiful mountains.

  7. CountryDew Says:

    Love the woodpecker. We have those every now and again but I can never catch them on camera.

  8. Rider Says:

    I love the quotation from “Old Yeller.” And I love your writing, Ms. Blue. Happy or not.

    You’re a gifted writer.

  9. sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    I enjoyed your mighty fine post (you probably didn’t need to hear that again :) !

    Your pictures are so good I feel like I am there. Such beautiful country where you live.

  10. Ariel Says:

    A mighty fine bunch of photos, as always! I particularly like the one of my arm swinging a bubble wand, because it makes me look like a body builder.

    A mighty big hug full of mighty fine love for a mighty fine mommy.

  11. Jeff Says:

    You are so fortunate to be able to capture a pileated woodpecker on film! I hear them often, see them less often, but am amazed that you actually snapped a picture of one. Mighty fine!

  12. Jeff Says:

    Is that a sassafras tree that the woodpecker is finding bugs in? I have a few sassafras trees on my property and I’ve seen quite a large number of holes in them …

  13. colleen Says:

    LOVE that bubble and the flower in the last shot IS mighty fine! http://looseleafnotes.com

  14. Clara Melvin Says:

    Thanks Beth for being a mighty fine blogger. I’m catching up this morning and enjoyed your mighty fine post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers