“A Perpetual Astonishment”

“Every spring is the only spring – a perpetual astonishment. “

 ~Ellis Peters

As I was looking over the pictures I’ve taken this week of the natural world coming to life around us here at the Doublewide Ranch, I was thinking about how they look very much like the pictures I took last spring and the spring before that.  Yep—happens  every year.  But every year, I am amazed anew at the sweet miracle of spring.  Sometimes, all I can do is walk around with my mouth open in astonished wonder and whisper  Thank You.

 I also wanted to give you a break from the somber heaviness of my two previous posts.  No doubt, you are breathing a big sigh of relief. :-)

Here’s what’s new at our place:

“Those who dwell, as scientists or laymen, among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life…There is something infinitely healing in the repeated refrains of nature—the assurance that dawn comes after night, and spring after the winter.”

~Rachel Carson

17 Responses to ““A Perpetual Astonishment””

  1. Benjamin Says:

    So the bloodroot did come back strong after all! Keep those deer away. Mama get your gun!

    Gorgeous, isn’t it? I’m enjoying the Song Sparrows over here–evidently they’re banded and have specified habitats all over campus, but that doesn’t take away from the amazement at all.

  2. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Beautiful spring pictures, Beth… You live in a beautiful area of the country. I love those Carolina mountains!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Jayne Says:

    I find myself slack jawed too this time of year Beth. I continually am amazed at how it just comes creeping in. One day you turn around, and BAM, everything is in blooming splendor! I love it! And I love seeing the beauty around you there. XOXO

  4. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Beautiful photos, Beth. Like Jayne, I find myself “slack jawed” this time of year.

    I love your lilac–I can just smell it. Sigh. Wish I had one to smell–I miss mine from Raleigh.

  5. southernlady64 Says:

    Lilac is my favorite flower of all and there is a bush in full bloom across the street from me. The smell is floating through my open windows today and I am so happy! Your photos are wonderful. Sometimes, I make several trips a day around my yard to see what has happened since the last one. So many things are blooming, bursting through the ground and opening that I don’t want to miss one! I know your mountains are just filled with spring color.

  6. CountryDew Says:

    Sigh. Just beautiful. Absolutely beautiful!

  7. june Says:

    Looking at these photos…hardly believing that just a couple of months ago you all were buried in snow! So beautiful, and always inspiring…

  8. Martha Says:

    Such stunning photos. I can only imagine how much more gorgeous everything is in person. You are so blessed to be surrounded by the nature around you. Thanks for sharing all the lovely pictures. This type of eye candy is good for the soul!

    I’m particular to the one with the bee on the apple blossom. A tiny little creature hard at work; adorable.

  9. Sweet Virginia Breeze Says:

    Your pictures are gorgeous! I can almost smell those lilacs.

  10. Jes Says:

    Beautiful photos! I think after this long, cold, gray winter, spring has been even more amazing for me–I still marvel at seeing the sun on a regular basis!

  11. eemilla Says:

    I love the Rachel Carson quote; this is the first year in a while that I’ve been so happy about spring. I loved the winter unpunctuated with 60F days, but now I’m ready to enjoy the industrious buzzing of the honey bees spreading their magic with the flowers competing for their attention with bright displays and seductive scents. Your photos are great!

  12. Sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    I don’t care how long I live, every Spring is amazing! Your pictures are so good they really capture the beauty of the flowers and trees. Gorgeous!

  13. colleen Says:

    Will we ever run out of flowers to shoot. No! Every year it’s all new. How can we not smile.

  14. God Says:

    You’re welcome, my child. I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed it.

  15. Ginger Says:

    I like all your posts, the serious and the light-hearted. Thanks for taking the time to write for us. And take such lovely pictures.

  16. Jeff Says:

    Sigh … makes me wish that I was back in Floyd to marvel at the budding growth there! I recognize the bloodroot, but what is the plant with the red winged seedpods? I know, stupid question from a “flatlander”! :-)

  17. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Not a stupid question at all, Jeff. If there’s anything stupid, it would be to NOT ask questions when you’re curious. :-)

    Those are maple seeds (and pods). When I was little, I loved playing with them because they twirl like helicopters when you drop them.

    Okay, I’ll admit it…I still like playing with them. And taking their picture.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers