Unsung Heroes #2: Ode to Peanut Butter

(This is the only picture of peanut butter I’ve ever taken, amazing as that might seem.  Only longtime readers (with really good memories) might possibly recall the utterly silly, madcap story  it came from.)

I was looking over my blog categories the other day and noticed that I’ve only written one post for “Unsung Heroes.” I started that category with the intention of recognizing and honoring common accoutrements of everyday life that we might take for granted. It was certainly no surprise to my family that my first post was an “Ode to My Recliner”.  I love that thing.  In fact, I sit in it so much that it bears the permanent indentation of my body. It’s sort of like a custom-made recliner now!

Anyway, I was in the grocery store the other day, horrified, as usual, at how the size of food items just keeps getting smaller, yet the price just keeps getting larger. Pretty soon, I thought to myself,  I’m going to have to give up eating. Eating—a silly habit I’ve developed over the years. But it’s just too expensive now.

But then, in the fluorescent glow of the grocery store light, I saw it. The food of the Gods, the Holy Grail of all Foodom, and, apparently, the Last Culinary Refuge of the Poor—peanut butter. Amazing, really, with so much inflation in food prices, how peanut butter has stayed relatively cheap. We buy it by the case, and we eat it by the spoon—we love the stuff.  Especially Benjamin and me.

So, naturally, when I heard that March is National Peanut Month, I knew what I had to do. Here is my “Ode to Peanut Butter.” Yes, I know it’s a silly poem and probably quite an awful one, but I’ll bet it makes you laugh. At least, I sure hope so:

Ode to Peanut Butter

Oh, sweet legume that grows beneath the earth!
Let me now proclaim your worth!
May my lips your great praise utter
Crunchy, munchy peanut butter
Creamy, dreamy peanut butter. 

Food of the rich and poor alike
Food for grownups, food for tykes.
Food that sets my heart aflutter
Crunchy, munchy peanut butter
Creamy, dreamy peanut butter.

On a sandwich, from a spoon,
Eat it morning, night, and noon.
When I run out, I cry and sputter,
“Crunchy, munchy peanut butter!”
“Creamy, dreamy peanut butter!”

By the jar or by the case,
You can buy it any place!
How I do adore its taste!
Crunchy, munchy peanut paste!
Creamy, dreamy peanut paste!

To clean out jars is not a chore,
‘Cause when it’s gone, I’ll eat some more!
I’ll never let it go to waste—
Crunchy, munchy peanut paste
Creamy, dreamy peanut paste.

Luscious goodness that I love
For it, I thank the Lord above.
It puts a smile upon my face.
Crunchy, munchy peanut paste
Creamy, dreamy peanut paste.

So I bow before thee, Jar of Jif,
My sagging spirits thou dost lift.
To do without would make me shudder.
Crunchy, munchy peanut butter.
Creamy, dreamy peanut butter.

20 Responses to “Unsung Heroes #2: Ode to Peanut Butter”

  1. Jayne Says:

    Tee hee hee!!! I LOVE it! Sam adores it! And we ADORE you! I think I need a spoonful now… oh, creamy, dreamy peanut butter!

  2. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Oh how cute, Beth…. I can almost hear you reciting that poem–almost like a song!!!!!! I love it!!! Of course, you are talking about my favorite food also. I love peanut butter–and it calls my name CONSTANTLY…. It can be in the cabinet with the door closed, and I can hear it saying: “Betsy—here I am. Come and eat me!” And I usually DO!!!!!

    We buy our peanut butter at Sam’s in those HUGE containers —always JIF… What other kind is there??????

    Thanks for a wonderful ODE.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Sharon Says:

    The other day we read about some people who take the month of February to stop buying anything but fresh produce and bread at the grocery store. The eat out of the freezer and off the pantry shelves. We thought this was worthy of emulation, but She’s first suggestion for dinner was frozen enchiladas paired with frozen sweet potato fries. I stuck up my nose and we had frozen enchiladas, a can of black beans, and a salad. There’s been no follow-through on this plan, but if something doesn’t change we’ll have to start heisting expensive art or at the very least robbing banks. I loved reading this post and re-reading the other two. I laughed over the Nut Family and the evil Squirrel, and miss my recliner.

  4. eemilla Says:

    Peanuts unite both chocolate and beer; I eat less than I used to, but I love me some fresh ground peanut butter (just plain ground peanuts, no extra oil or sugar).

  5. Jeff Says:

    Peanuts need a growing season of 120 days and do best in a sandy loam soil that is well drained. You’ve got the 120 days – more than that, really. Now, all you need to do is make a part of your garden well-drained (don’t know about the sandy part in your clay soil!) and you can have your very own peanuts!! Sounds like a plan to me … I wish I could eat peanuts – they used to be one of my favorites, but I developed an allergy to them. Nothing better than a peanut butter and honey sandwich – spread the honey first and let it soak in to the bread and then add the peanut butter. Yum!!! I eat sunflower nut butter now. More expensive, but it is delicious!

  6. clairz Says:

    Now you’ve done it. I’ll never see a jar of peanut butter again without thinking “crunchy, munchy peanut paste!”

  7. southernlady64 Says:

    I love your poem and I love peanut butter. My father loved peanut butter and TW already loves peanut butter! My dad used to buy it years ago in 5 lb. containers. I was raised on the stuff. TW loves those peanut butter filled pretzels. He eats them as fast as you will give him one. My dad used to eat peanut butter mixed with molasses and spread on bread like a sandwich. I have a recipe for cookies that only takes one cup peanut butter, one cup sugar, and an egg. They are the best cookies ever. I, too, will think of you from now on when I have peanut butter. I’m glad you wrote this poem. Peanut butter needs to be recognized for the wonderful food that it is. Have a good weekend.

  8. june Says:

    How talented you are! Terrific ode! Have you seen the movie Food Inc? Very disturbing, but interesting.

  9. chris Says:

    I love it! Peanut butter is pure comfort food; goes well with pure recliner comfort! I prefer the organic but would not refuse any. Happy spring!

  10. wesley Says:

    Peanut butter is largely the basis of Barrett’s diet. I figure it’s just about the perfect food for a picky little one who eats very little of anything. She’ll eat fruit, nuts, chocolate (of course), dairy, and…peanut butter.

    Most every day she shares the peanut butter–right out of the jar with a spoon–with her Daddy when he gets home from work.

    Now, whenever they do that I’ll be thinking of your poem.

  11. Ariel Says:

    Hahahahahaha! :D This is hilarious! And it will probably be going through my head all day now. I think this has the potential to be a hit song. Yeah buddy.

    Jeff, I concur on the peanut butter and honey sandwiches. I could live on those alone. I practically did a couple of years ago during summer school. That and yogurt.

    I ate an apple yesterday and ended more peanut butter than apple as a result. I’m going to use National Peanut Month as an excuse.

  12. Sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    I loved your poem! Perfect ode to peanut butter. We buy the big jars at Sam’s club, two to a pack. Boy does it go fast (did I just sort of make a rhyme there?!). It’s my go to sandwich filling and once my kids see me eating a spoonful, fights ensue as to who is next with the jar. I’ve mixed peanut butter chocolate and with plain sugar for a snack. Jif is our favorite too!

  13. CountryDew Says:

    What a great poem! Peanut butter is a good food, even the kind that is a little beyond natural.

    You’re right about stuff getting smaller and more expensive. It’s a terrible trend.

  14. Ginger Says:

    Your ode made me laugh. Thanks. I love peanut butter on apples. The problem is I always run out of apples and have to cut up more to eat more pb.

    Peanut butter on a spoon is surely a cure for many ills. My dad used to make his special dessert on a regular basis. Called it “Smurkey-Do.” He would mix peanut butter and Griffin’s syrup to spread on toast after supper. Or on biscuits if we had them. Yum. Very good on waffles.

  15. Martha Says:

    Ha ha ha…you are so hilarious, Beth. What a fantastic poem! And you’re right; for some reason or other peanut butter has remained affordable. Everything else keeps rising in price as it gets smaller. I was at the market yesterday doing our weekly groceries; you would laugh if you could see me. I talk to myself as I wheel around my cart, mumbling calculations, picking up items and putting them back…the whole exercise of grocery shopping is frustrating. And every now and then my eyes get big and round as Il whisper “When did this get so expensive? Seems smaller too” When I finally ring up the items at the cash, it amazes me how high my bill is and how empty my cart is. You may be right; we may have to give up this silly habit called ‘eating’ :)

  16. Benjamin Says:

    That was great! Here’s another verse:

    Whenever I am under stress,
    My taste buds fain thou would caress,
    After eating I have a little more blubber,
    Crunchy, munchy peanut butter.
    Creamy, dreamy peanut butter.

  17. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    Jeff, roasted almond butter and roasted cashew butter is delicious too. I like my almond butter with unsweeted cherry jam or preserves. The real fruit kind. Yum!

    Yeah Beth, peanut butter is the food of the Gods. I adore peanut butter. When I lived in Jersey and worked in a health food store, they had a machine there where we ground up the peanut butter when someone wanted it. I cannot tell you how delicious that peanut butter was.

    I also noticed all the packages in the stores are smaller. What sneaks they are.

  18. clara Melvin Says:

    AWWWW, one of my favorite things. I think p-nut butter has saved my life a time or two! Loved the poem.

  19. C.Josephina Says:

    I love that poem! I’m posting it at work, if that’s okay. I find myself discussing a love for peanut butter at least once a week. Some say it’s weather that is easiest to start a conversation with, but I’ve made more friends out of strangers over a mutual love of peanut butter. It just may be the key to world peace. Peanut Butter = People Butter.

  20. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Hi, C.Josephina—Thank you! I’d be pleased for you to post my poem at work. Anything I can do to promote world peace through peanut butter will be fine with me. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers