Some Pictures and a Thank-You

 

(Just a reminder that you can click on any of my photos to enlarge them, should you wish to see them better.)

Once again, words seem inadequate to express how grateful I am for the kind hands extended and love shown in your responses to my last post.  You know, I actually typed “virtual love” at first in the previous sentence.  But that would seem to imply somehow that it wasn’t real.  But I think it was.  Every word I read (and I read them all more than once) seemed as honest and true as the generous and compassionate hearts behind them.  So I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your healing words of love.

Here are some pictures from the last couple of weeks here at the Doublewide Ranch.  Yes, the dreary cold and relentless ice and snow continue and the medical bills keep coming, but there was a bright spot last week when I did our taxes and found out (thanks to an increase in the Earned Income Credit) that we are getting back more money than we ever have before.  And it so happens that it should be sufficient to cover most of what we owe on Benjamin’s hospital bill.  So thanks be to the Lord for His grace and kind provision.  And thanks be to God for birds that sing in the bitter cold.  And for snow-dusted mountain tops and white, icy frost flowers.  And for squirrels that make me laugh. 

And thanks be to the Lord for you.

See the pretty little frost flowers on the ice?

There is still life under the ice that will be there long after the ice is melted.

Eventually, all that pristine snow makes mud.  At least, in our driveway it does.

Comic relief.  We are easily entertained with a potato from our garden.  Mrs. Potatohead and her baby Spud.

A rare bit of golden morning sun on my Grandma’s pie safe.  Yes, I do like whimsical knick knacks.  I hope those of you who like spareness in your spaces are not too horrified. :-)

I really love the way this squirrel was holding his tail.  Made me feel oddly happy.

Leaves in ice

Can you see the little heart on the tree trunk?  Happy Valentine’s Day!

My Appalachian Alps :-)

14 Responses to “Some Pictures and a Thank-You”

  1. Betsy from Tennessee Says:

    Hi Beth, Your pictures are marvelous… Love that LAST one –but that won’t surprise you I’m sure since you know how much i love the mountains…Beautiful!!!

    Love your little Spud… He makes some great company for Mr. Potatohead. I love your ‘knick-knacks’ also… But—you can keep the squirrels!!!!! ha

    Hope the worst of February’s weather is over—although who knows!!!

    Have a great evening.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Nancy Says:

    Hey Beth! Your pictures always make me happy and grateful for every small blessing…Even the muddy tires stuck in ruts somehow make me grateful that our long drought is finally over. Thanks!

  3. Sweetflutterbys3 Says:

    Beth,

    That is great news about your tax refund. I am hoping our situation is the same. It was a rough year last year and any refund is more than welcome!

    I love the picture of the squirrel. It looks like he curled his tail up like a coat on his back, keeping warm. Cute little bugger.

  4. Jeff Says:

    I love the pie safe – have you put any apple pies in there yet? Ice crystals and snowflakes are so amazing – there are some truly wonderful pictures of snowflakes out there. I’ve read that each one is unique – how intriguing! I’ve never seen frost flowers before ….

  5. Jayne Says:

    Yippeeee! It’s always such a treat to see that you will get a nice refund, and the fact that it will nicely cover all the bills is added icing on the cake! I burst out laughing at your spud photos Beth! I love your sense of humor. Looks like you all will be icy for a while yet. Snuggle up and keep warm! Have a beautiful day my friend.

  6. Benjamin Says:

    Wonderful! The picture on the pie safe reminds me of toy story–it’s like all the birds and wind-ups were partying all night and then froze at first light of the day…

    The baby spud looks like he’s saying, “Mom! Look at your tongue! We need to get you to the hospital!”

    Thank you for posting these!! They made me smile.

  7. eemilla Says:

    Woohoo! It’s good to hear that someone is coming out good this tax season.

  8. Martha Says:

    What wonderful news about your tax refund, Beth! I’m glad that it will ease some of the load for those medical bills. We have a different system up here in Canada, as you know, and I believe we don’t truly comprehend how stressful it can be when medical bills come in. We never see any, and I think we take that for granted.

    Your photos are lovely; as always, the pictures you post put a smile on my face. I am so grateful for your blog; it’s such a warm and wonderful place to visit!

  9. southernlady64 Says:

    Hi Beth, All your photos are beautiful as usual. I love the little Spud potato. What a cutie! I am so glad you will get back a good refund to pay on your medical bills. It seems God always provides somehow when we least expect it. I could not believe my eyes when I saw your pie safe. I have one exactly like it but yours looks in better shape than mine. I even got up from the computer and went to check the tin. Mine has the exact same design in the tin! I bought mine at least 40 years ago in a shop. It has housed all kinds of things. I hope you have a great Valentine’s Day but I know you will because there is lots of love in your home and love is what Valentine’s is all about.

  10. Di Says:

    Oh gosh… How cute is that! Mrs. Potatohead. She’s quite the prize, isn’t she…. all dressed up and no place to go due to the weather.

    Di
    The Blue Ridge Gal

  11. Sharon Says:

    You’re a gift to all of us. Thank YOU.

  12. CountryDew Says:

    What lovely pictures. That one of the mountain is exquisite. I liked the bits of green in the others – a timely reminder that one day this snow will go away!

  13. Shelly Says:

    Have been following you for a little while now and want to say thank you for your beautiful photos and your wonderful thoughts. I am in a huge transition in my life right now and it is just one day at a timeas I move back to SW Va right off from the Blue Ridge parkway wher my parents live to carve out a little niche for myself and I enjoy all the inspiration that others have to share. I use my blog as somewhat of a gratitude journal and as my eye on the prize so to speak and I love women who inspire which in turn empowers others. Many do not realize the impact that they have and I just wanted to share your little impact on me. Thank You and keep sharing those beautiful pics.
    Always, Shelly
    http://featherednestfarm.blogspot.com/

  14. Denise@TogetherWeSave Says:

    Wonderful pictures!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers