The Long Days of Summer Are All Too Short

I heart morning glories blog

(Morning glory leaf on my porch, illuminated)

Well, hi there!  Sorry to be absent from the blogosphere for so long, but things have been pretty busy at the Doublewide Ranch, what with houseguests and yardwork and garden tending and searching for unsuspecting souls to unload our squash and zucchini on.   That was one of the nice things about having guests—–the squash disappeared a lot faster.  Maybe that’s the way you could get rid of houseguests that overstay their welcome—feed them squash at every meal!  *Laughs maniacally* :-)

Many thanks to those of you who wrote asking about my finger and for your kind comments on my post.   The finger’s okay, I guess, though the fingernail part of the injury seems to be healing rather slowly, necessitating that I still wear a slightly bulky bandage to protect it.  It didn’t help that I had a little run-in with yellow jackets while mowing last week, and they, of course, nailed me on the same hand that had the run-in with the hedgetrimmer.  Thank goodness I’m right-handed.

Anyway, my typing is still a little slower and more tedious than usual, so I hope you won’t mind if I let my photos speak for me.  One of the places we took our guests was to the wonderful North Carolina Arboretum.  I was absolutely enchanted by these blackberry lilies we saw there.  And what most enchanted me was not the flower (though it was lovely),  but the delightful spiral of the spent bloom:

blackberry lily spent bloom blog

blackberry lily and spent blooms blog

And the wonderful buds of the swamp hibiscus:swamp hibiscus bud blog

And the exuberant song sparrow who serenaded us when we stopped to rest:

song sparrow arboretum blog

Back at home,  our chipping sparrow was looking chipper, as always:

chipper Mr. Chipper blog

Our goldfinch amused us by trying to take a little string for her nest:

pulling strings blog

And we were delighted by more spiral flowers in these morning glory buds:

morning glory buds blog

We relished regarding this rabbit in repose:

rabbit in repose blog

And it was in a rare moment of repose that I was able to get this shot of a hummingbird moth on my petunias.  I really like it a lot.  I hope you do, too.

hummingbird moth on petunias blog

23 Responses to “The Long Days of Summer Are All Too Short”

  1. Betsy from Tennessee Says:

    Hi Girlie, I’m so glad to see a blog from you… I knew you were okay since you were commenting on mine. BUT–I have missed your posts since they are always so good.

    Your visit to the arboretum must have been GREAT. The photos are amazing. I also love your little finch and sparrows…

    Glad your finger is okay. Just BE CAREFUL.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Sharon Says:

    It’s wonderful to have you back! I think I must have missed one of your posts–you know I’ve been somewhat distracted–I am so sorry about your “fender” as we call them at our house. Loved the maniacal laughing about “squashing” houseguests, and your amazing photos. Someday I wish you’d tell what kind of camera you have.

  3. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Wow these are amazing. Truly.
    I love the twisted flowers and the hummingbird moth especially.

  4. Jayne Says:

    Welcome back! I’ve been MIA this week too with all the craziness at work. Have lots of blog catching up to do. The arboretum sounds like a wonderful place and the photos are lovely. Esp. love your hummingbird moth. :c)

  5. Elaine Cantrell Says:

    Your pictures are so beautiful! I liked the part about the squash too. That was really funny.

  6. june Says:

    Great shots…especially the spiral flower closeup and definitely, the bird pulling on the string. Did I miss something? I don’t recall reading about your finger injury. Perhaps I’m just getting forgetful :-/

  7. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Hi, June. The exciting saga of my finger injury is in the previous post, “Of Fireworks, Fireflies, Fingers, and the Fourth of July.” :-)

  8. eemilla Says:

    The morning glory photo is the final straw; I’ve got to plant them next year. Nice to have new post from you, and I hope you enjoy the weekend!

  9. Jeff Says:

    There you go again! “We relished regarding this rabbit in repose.” You just can’t resist, can you? I’m laughing, now! Yes, you must tell us something about the camera you use and how you managed to backlight the leaf so that the veins stand out so sharply. What a wonderful picture!

  10. Martha Says:

    What a wonderful post; full of so many beautiful photos. I especially love the hummingbird moth. Isn’t it just the most amazing creature? I’m glad that your finger is healing, and very happy to see a new post on your site. I so much enjoy your writing style.

  11. Marites Says:

    wow! you have such beautiful photos..they got me amazed.

  12. ginger Says:

    Amazing photos. Thanks for sharing them with us!

  13. Judy Says:

    Hi Beth, That hummingbird moth photo is just awesome! They are all great but that is by far my favorite. I am so glad your finger is doing well and you are recuperating. It is nice to have company. I know what you mean about the squash. I used to freeze it, cook it, fry it, bake it and do anything else with it I could think of to get rid of it from the garden. We always had way too much. My girls and I went on our annual trip to Amish country yesterday and brought home loads of veggies and fruits but no squash. I never have to buy squash because people give it to me. Have a great week.

  14. Clara Melvin Says:

    Hi Beth, I also have been in slow motion when it comes to posting. Such a busy summer! I loved your photos as usual. Yes, tell us again what kind of camera you have. It’s good that your finger is healing. Take care of it. I have a sore toe on each foot. Both because of me going barefoot and “stumping” them. The first one, I ran into the corner of my steps in the basement and the second one, I was mowing my bank barefoot, and stumped my middle toe on the other foot. The rock was in the way. :-) I know, I shouldn’t mow barefoot, but that the only way I can stand up on the bank! Anyway, good to “see” you again!

  15. chris Says:

    Beautiful photos, especially the last one. I enjoy your posts so much.

  16. CountryDew Says:

    We visited the NCA last year while we were taking in Asheville. It was a wonderful place and quite a treasurer.

    I’m glad your finger is a little better.

  17. Brenda Kay Ledford Says:

    I just found your blog and I love the photos of the flowers and birds. You have a beautiful blog. Please visit my blog and leave a comment at: http://blueridgepoet.blogspot.com

  18. NCMountainwoman Says:

    Great photographs. I especially loved the hummingbird moth, something I have always wanted to see in real life.

  19. Edelweiss Transplanted Says:

    Amen to summer being too short. This one is especially beautiful with that stretch we had of low humidity and sunny days. Thanks so much for the lovely pictures! We were out in Culpeper County this weekend, and I was reminded again just how lovely the Virginia countryside is.

  20. colleen Says:

    A positively gorgeous photo shoot. One bud looks like a Venetian bead.

    Hey, Joe cut his hand too. And we had company and squash!

  21. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    Oh no, you had a run-in with a hedge trimmer?! Yikes! I take it everything’s okay now since you’re typing with the bad hand.

    Beth, your photography is stunning. I just had to make hubby come over and look and believe me, he doesn’t want to move out of that chair, lol. Wow, that one with the bird pulling the string. Amazing that you caught that one! All of them are absolutely beautiful. You missed your calling girl!

  22. betsyfromtennessee Says:

    Hi Beth, Just letting you know that we are home from vacation and had a wonderful time. I posted this morning.

    Hope you are doing okay…
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  23. amish in tennessee Says:

    Hello. I happened upon your web site while I was looking for something completely unrelated. While I don’t agree with some of what you said we do have almost the same viewpoints by and large. I have bookmarked your site and may visit again in the near future to see what you’re writing about in 2010!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers