More Signs and Wonders (and A Far Less Lengthy Post)

bee balm variety blog

(In my back yard)

I’ve been feeling more pensive than loquacious this past week, so you’ll be happy to know that this post will be far less long-winded than my last. :-) 

You may remember that I talked in the previous post about our bee balm that has never bloomed before, but is covered with blossoms this summer.  Well, it’s not only blooming, it’s blooming in different colors!  Light pink, magenta, purple, and white growing side by side and appearing to spring from a single plant.  Obviously, there must be different plants in the one clump, but, still, such a riot of colors was so unexpected that it seems wondrous and magical. 

two fritillaries blog

And so pretty.  Even the bud of the bee balm is amazing to me.  It starts out  looking like just a cluster of tightly compressed green leaves, but over time, those leaves unfurl and open a few at the time, like a little present, to at last reveal the flower inside.   And the bees and butterflies and hummingbird moths…and me…can’t get enough of it.

bee balm bud blog

varied bee balm blog

And one more small unexpected marvel:  Last year, we installed front porch flower boxes (and gingerbread trim) to make our rather plain little doublewide look as close to Victorian as a trailer could possibly look.  (A challenging task indeed). Early in the spring, I noticed little green shoots  in the flower boxes.  The flowers from last year had re-seeded!  And the flowers (mostly petunias) finally blossomed last week.  I never cease to be amazed at the improbability of such tiny, insignificant-looking seeds growing into something so lovely.   And without any help from me.   An everyday miracle, but a miracle nevertheless,  I think.

flower box blog

(from my front porch this morning)

I hope you’ve had some wonders of your own in the past week.  I think the miracles are always there.   It’s just that sometimes you have to remember to look for them and to listen.  To keep your mouth closed—-but your mind  and heart wide open.

15 Responses to “More Signs and Wonders (and A Far Less Lengthy Post)”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Yep. In quadruplicate. Quintuplicate?

  2. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Lovely post, as always. And I actually like the long posts…

    Your view and your garden are lovely. I hope they provide the balm you need.

  3. Pat Says:

    Always a treat to see a post from you…long or short…in my Google reader!

  4. eemilla Says:

    I agree with Pat; short or long, it is nice to see a new one in the reader.

  5. Judy Says:

    Hi Beth, I love all your posts. I don’t know what amazes me the most. The way you write, your pictures, the way you see things or the view from that porch. Sometimes, when you post a picture of that view, I just shut my eyes and pretend I am sitting there with you looking out over your beautiful mountains.

  6. Clara Melvin Says:

    Beth, you can be long-winded any time you want to! I’m like Judy, It’s hard for me to say which I like the most….your pictures or your words!

  7. Jeff Says:

    “To keep your mouth closed — but your mind and heart wide open.” Wise words indeed. If only I could do just that more often! Lovely post, as usual, Beth.

  8. Jayne Says:

    I keep saying I need to plant some bee balm or butterfly bushes out by the treeline, but just haven’t yet for some reason. Seeing your photos makes me smile and want to see that in my own backyard. Your words and photos are equally beautiful Beth. :c)

  9. june Says:

    These are some beautiful pictures Beth…and what a great view you have!

  10. Ariel Says:

    Wise words and beautiful pictures indeed! I hope the bee balm is still blooming when I get there. I’m actually going to go and tend our bee balm here today. The garden needs some very serious weeding.

  11. ginger Says:

    Hi! Those are some great photos! I love that there are so many miracles in life. Good advice to pause and pay attention to them.

  12. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    Beth, that view alone is a miracle!

    In one of my decorating magazines and also on one of the HGTV decorating shows, they featured a doublewide that was all done up Victorian shabby chic with antiques and chandeliers. You could not tell it was a double wide. She even changed out the molding. I love that kind of creativity.

    I wish I knew the names of all the flowers like you do.

    Interestingly, my roses also bloomed different colors this year. Last year they were red and this year they are dark pink. And one that was peach is now baby pink. Very odd.

    http://www.GreenerPastures–ACityGirlGoesCountry.blogspot.com

  13. Betsy Says:

    Hi Beth, We are home from our Anniversary trip. I’ll blog about it tomorrow.

    I love that last picture —with the mountains in the background. WOW!!!!!

    Hope you are having a great week. Let me know when you get your package…
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  14. colleen Says:

    You have a great combination of great photography and a knack for the written word. They are all wonderful but the third one really makes me quiver.

  15. nance Says:

    Hi,
    Something weird happened with my Hibiscus too. The flowers were always solid peach color then one day, I noticed that a couple of the petals of one flower were red! … go figure! lol
    I read something that this was caused by some kind of virus. I kept the article and picture of my hibiscus at work so I can’t tell you more about it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers