The Previously Unrecognized Mating Dance of the Eastern Bluebird

Ornithologists worldwide were alerted this week to a previously unobserved and most curious mating dance performed by a male Eastern Bluebird at a bluebird house at the Blue Ridge home of Blue Ridge Blue Collar Girl.   Reportedly, the female bluebird was not impressed by the male’s lively performance, though she did eye with interest the juicy caterpillar in his mouth.

*wink*

bluebird-jumpin-blog

bluebird-steppin-blog

bluebird-jivin-blog

bluebirds-together-blog

(Note to Tom: Happy 22nd Anniversary to my Anam Cara.)

12 Responses to “The Previously Unrecognized Mating Dance of the Eastern Bluebird”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Congratulations, you two. How lucky we are to have anam caras, eh? May you have many, many more happy anniversaries. And Beth, another amazing series of photos!

  2. Nancy Says:

    Happy, happy, joy, joy you two!

    I think maybe the male was trying to give the female a bit of a symbolic message…He was saying “Honey, do decide to give me a whirl! I await your reply with a worm on my tongue (or, as we humans know it, with baited breath!)

  3. Ariel Says:

    These are hilarious, amazing photos. Happy Anniversary! I love y’all!

  4. jayne Says:

    Isn’t he just the happy, worm toting chap!

  5. eemilla Says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  6. june Says:

    Wonderful takes Beth!

  7. Judy Says:

    Happy Anniversary, I hope you enjoyed your day! That is hilarious. Kind of reminds me of Bob sometimes and she reminds me of me!!!!!!!

  8. Benjamin Says:

    Happy 22nd, y’all! That made my day. The third one kind of looks like he’s doing the can-can. And what does “anam cara” mean?

  9. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Hey there, Benjamin! My understanding is that “anam cara” is Gaelic for “soul friend,” although I believe that there are Gaelic purists who dispute this. Nevertheless, I love the phrase because it describes so well the deep bond I have with your Daddy—the connection that endures through all our many hardships.

    I can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

  10. wesleyjeanne Says:

    First of all: great capture!

    Secondly: Happy Happy Anniversary and what a great post to honor it.

    Finally: Your response to Benjamin’s inquiry made me cry. That’s exactly how I feel about Paul–soul friend.

    I know you’re excited to have Benjamin home tomorrow. I hope you (and he) enjoy the summer.

  11. Edelweiss Transplanted Says:

    Looks like caterpillars are the bling of the bluebird world!

    Thanks for these beautiful photographs.

  12. CountryDew Says:

    Lucky girl, 22 years! Great shots. Amazing captures of the bird, actually.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers