Little Signs of Spring #17

How I know that Spring is really here at the Doublewide Ranch…

chipper-chipper-blog

The Chipping Sparrow sings in the morning.

honeybees-eat-hummingbird-food-blog

The honeybees sip hummingbird nectar.

appleblossoms-blog1

Apple blossoms…umm…blossom.

tulips-after-rain-blog

Tulips glisten after a sweet spring rain.

swallowtail-on-lilacs-blog

And swallowtails swarm on lilacs.

(Note to my daughter Ariel:  Happy Birthday,  babygirl.  Wish you were here.)

17 Responses to “Little Signs of Spring #17”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Looks like a gorgeous spring in NC, Beth….Love all of the pictures, especially that cute little Chipping Sparrow. He’s so handsome!!!!

    Love the white Tulips also. We didn’t have any white ones.. They are so pretty…

    Hope you are having a good week.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. Sharon Says:

    Just beautiful, Beth. I love that Chipping Sparrow, too. Are you gonna name him?

  3. Sharon Says:

    P.S. Happy Birthday, Ariel!

  4. eemilla Says:

    Ahh the lilacs; I can smell them now.

  5. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Ahh lovely, lovely.

    Happy Birthday Ariel!

  6. jayne Says:

    Beautiful! Oh, how I love these sure signs. :c)

  7. Ariel Says:

    Beautiful! Those are incredibly greedy honeybees. Do we have any hummingbirds this year, or did the bees run them all off?

    Thank you for the birthday wishes. I wish I was there too.

  8. Benjamin Says:

    Awesome photos, as usual. I’ve never seen that many honeybees clustered in one place before. You have a gift for seeing the beautiful (and unusual) and capturing it in its true form!

  9. Benjamin Says:

    And, yes, Happy Birthday, Ariel!!!

  10. CountryDreaming Says:

    The Chipping Sparrow looks to be posing for his big chance to star in a field guide, and rightly so, he’s a gorgeous singer against the spring sky. A good thing about honeybees … I’ve heard that if you eat the local honey they produce, it helps protect against the local allergens come hay fever time. The apple blossoms are just dreamy, awesome composition, cheery colors. Love how the pure white tulips cast pure white shadows of themselves and look so washed-clean magnificent against a blue April. And that yellow Swallowtail was made for that complementary purple lilac, in harmony with the natural background green.

  11. Clara Melvin Says:

    Beautiful Spring pictures. Was that plate set out especially for the honey bees? Happy birthday Ariel!

  12. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Hi, Clara. No, the honeybees were drinking from my hummingbird feeder. And the little critters developed quite a taste for it—sucked it dry in no time, even though there were plenty of flowers around they could get nectar from. I finally had to buy a new feeder—one that was supposedly honeybee-proof. So far, it’s worked out very well, and it’s also easier to clean than the other one. It’s a HummZinger brand feeder.

    • Michael Hill Says:

      Hi Beth,
      My name is Michael Hill. I’m a reporter with The Associated Press and am trying to reach you for a story I’m writing about the 40th anniversary of the Woodstock concert. It regards a post you made last year on Loose Leaf Notes. Would you mind sending me your e-mail?
      Also, I loved the pictures. Thanks for bringing a touch of spring to a rainy day here in Albany, N.Y.

      Michael Hill

  13. Judy Says:

    Happy late Birthday to Ariel. Beth, thank you for your kind words on the death of my niece. The worst part about the whole thing was watching my sister lose her child. It was so sad. Your pictures are wonderful. Lilacs are my favorite flower. It has rained here for a week and supposed to rain all this coming week. I have TW today and he is taking a nap on my bedroom floor right now. I am trying to type quietly. lol.
    Hope you are having a good weekend.

  14. CountryDew Says:

    Those are some lovely shots.

  15. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    Did you take those pictures Beth? They look like professional photos. Beautiful.

    The Doublewide Ranch. Great name!

    http://www.GreenerPastures–ACityGirlGoesCountry.blogspot.com

  16. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Aww, shucks, Debi…what a nice thing to say! Yes, I did take those right here at the Doublewide Ranch with my Canon point-and-shoot camera. It’s not a fancy camera, but I like it just fine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers