Hank and Homer-Part 2: Hank and Homer’s Odyssey

readingmobydickblog

When I wrote about Hank and Homer (who at one time were  gloves and socks) and how they came into being here, you probably thought you’d seen the last of them.  Well, I  can’t help it—–I just love the little fellas.  And not just because I made them.  They make me smile every time I look at them, so if you’re reading this and thinking, “Good Lord, I can’t believe a 51-year-old-woman would be playing with a couple of stuffed animals!” well, I’m afraid you’re on the wrong blog and you should probably go read Nietzsche or something.  Wait a minute, even Nietzsche said, “In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play.”  Well, there you go.  And, thank God,  my inner child is always ready to play.

Anyway, Hank and Homer are finally starting to feel comfortable around the other invertebrates.  Homer was a little sensitive about his resemblance to Homer Simpson, so I made him a hat (out of a sock!) that I think somewhat mitigates the unfortunate resemblance.  He’s very fond of his new hat, but Hank’s a little jealous.   He wants a hat, too.  They’ve been working a lot on self-improvement (people are always telling them their heads are full of fluff!).  So they’ve been reading the classics.  As you can see, they started on Moby Dick, but then they heard the birds singing outside and saw the flowers waving in the breeze and knew it was time for an adventure! 

First up:  a ride in Mr. Gnome’s wheelbarrow!  For Hank, at least.  Homer just wanted to lie in the creeping phlox and bask in the warm spring sun.

hank-takes-a-ride-blog

giddyupblog

Giddyup, Pinky!  Hank takes a ride on old Pinky, while Homer…

giddyuphomerblog

Rides old Blue.

Time for a little tree climbing—- into the flowering pear tree.  There were about ten thousand bees buzzing around the pear tree flowers.  Hank and Homer loved being in the bee-loud tree.  They even found a bird’s nest there!

handandhomerclimbatreeblog

bird-nest-in-pear-tree-blog

Look!  The dandelions are back!  Time to make a wish.  Hank wished for a hat just like Homer’s.

hankandhomermakeawishblog

But all that activity and fresh air makes little invertebrates kind of tired.  So back inside they went to watch the NCAA tournament on TV.  Sure, Hank and Homer’s TV is a little small and old, but watching the Tar Heels play basketball is exciting no matter how you’re watching it!  Go Heels!

hankandhomerwatchbasketballblog

Not that they watch much TV.  They’d rather read.  After they finish Moby Dick, Homer is thinking about reading another book he heard was really good, if a mite long.  He really likes the name of the author—- Homer.  And he finds the title very exciting—-The Odyssey  (he does like a good adventure tale!)   Hank’s not so sure that these classics are all they’re cracked up to be.  But he’ll read The Odyssey if that’s what Homer wants because he likes to make him happy.   Because they’re best buddies.  And they always will be.

15 Responses to “Hank and Homer-Part 2: Hank and Homer’s Odyssey”

  1. Benjamin Says:

    *Sigh*, I’m afraid “Moby Dick” will ruin them for reading for life. But it’s good to see they’ve found other diversions. I still play with Legos; my inner child is alive and well, not suppressed (like those who read Kant, haha). Less than a week ’til I see you! Yes!

  2. Sharon Says:

    I just love this story! I can’t wait for more of H&H’s adventures. Can’t wait to show this to Sheila, who will love it also. I knew after all my nagging there would be a new post before I went to bed tonight. (She said smugly and happily.)

  3. Betsy Says:

    Cute Beth… You really are a writer, you know!!!!! You need to consider doing more of it professionally…

    Hope you do read the Odyssey….. If you love it like you did Moby, well—I guess I’ll call you an ‘Educa-Crat’…..

    Love Homer and Hank!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Very cute. Thank for a bright spot to start my day!

  5. june Says:

    Good to see them again :-) Didn’t you also have some other little ones you told stories around? Seems to me there was a tea party…

  6. luckypennies Says:

    Hahaha! I am incredibly happy to see Hank and Homer again. I’m not sure you should make their first exposure to reading “Moby Dick.” They should read some Berenstein Bears or something like that. Instead of a hat, you should make Hank a Tar Heels shirt. One that says “2009 Championship.” Because, of course, we’re going to win it. :D Then Homer would be really jealous. I hope the two of them didn’t scare off the baby birds with their antics.

  7. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    June: Perhaps you’re thinking of The Nut Family’s Christmas Adventure, an exciting tale of anthropomorphized acorns and an evil squirrel. :-)

    http://blueridgebluecollargirl.wordpress.com/2007/12/22/the-nut-familys-christmas-adventures/

  8. Judy Says:

    This was so much fun and they are such loveable characters. I bet lots of children would go crazy for the adventures of these two in a book! Maybe, you should write childrens books starring Hank and Homer. You could have a whole series with a new adventure in each book. Then you could sell Hank and Homer clothing, caps, hats, pj’s, and all kinds of things. See, I have a big imagination, too! You would be an author and your books may become children’s classics…

  9. Jeff Says:

    Beth, you’re hilarious!! I laughed out loud as soon as I saw the post title and kept laughing the whole way through. Wonderful post! :-)

  10. ginger Says:

    Cute! I think you may be on to something!

  11. clairz Says:

    Oh, my gosh, their faces! Those expressions! You’re having fun, they’re having fun, and we’re all out here giggling.

    Funny thing about making dolls or stuffed animals, one minute you’re sewing bits of cloth together, and the next minute you’re apologizing to them for pricking them with the needle and thread. They come to life quite suddenly, don’t they?

    However, none of mine ever sprang to life with such ready-made personalities…I agree with the other commenters–we must see more of Hank and Homer.

    Thank you, Beth, for another wonderful piece of writing.

  12. Sharon Says:

    I agree with Judy about writing a Hank and Homer children’s book series. It’s perfect for you! You’re perfect for it! BTW, Sheila loved the story too, and we both cried about H&H’s wonderful friendship.

  13. Clara Melvin Says:

    Oh Beth, you just made my day…..and I hope I never get over the “child” in me. You are on to somethiing! Homer and Hank could become the next Garfield.

  14. Jeff Says:

    A bee-loud tree. I missed that on the first reading. More hilarity. I love Hank – he is such a character. Anyone who goes for a ride on a flamingo has my admiration! :-)

  15. Hank and Homer-Part 3: A Visit from the Easter Bunny « Blue Ridge Blue Collar Girl Says:

    [...] he loves Hank more.  So Homer agreed that maybe it was adventure enough to climb trees and play with gnomes and ride old Pinky and old Blue.  And adventure enough to ride their imaginary Harleys (very, very quiet Harleys!) down the endless [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers