Our Wild Life

bobcat-closeup-blog

(The Hunter)

I actually took these shots back in late summer, but I’m just now getting around to posting them.  I know the quality of the shot above was not so great, but it’s about the best I could manage from a distance with my point-and-shoot.  But I feel lucky to have gotten that—after all, it’s not every day you see a bobcat in your backyard. 

We had just sat down to supper, and Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man was gazing out the sliding glass doors. 

“Wow,” he said.  “Look at that.”

Now, here’s the thing about Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man—if he sees something and wants to call your attention to it, whether it be a common house finch or say maybe…an ivory-billed woodpecker…his response is pretty much the same.

Not “Wow, look at that common house finch!” or “Wow, look at that ivory-billed woodpecker!”  Nope.  Just “Wow, look at that.”  So, when you look where his finger’s pointing, it’s sometimes hard to figure out just what he’s seeing or whether it’s actually worth turning your head for.  I mean, seriously…if he were to see a pterodactyl perched on our barbed wire fence post watching a herd of stegosaurus graze in the pasture, I’m sure he’d nonchalantly say, “Wow, look at that.”  

Anyway, when he said that, I rather languidly looked outside, but saw nothing but the usual field full of wildflowers. 

“Umm…what?”  I said.  “I don’t see anything.”

“Over there—by the oak tree,” he said, pointing in the direction of about ten different oak trees.  We have nothing BUT oak trees in our back field. 

I looked again, but still saw nothing.  Rather irritably, I said, “Could you perhaps give me a hint as to what I’m looking for?”

“A bobcat.  It’s a bobcat.”

I jumped up then.  “A bobcat?”  I ran to get my camera and peered out the back door.  Then, I finally saw him–a gorgeous wildcat–crouching in the weeds in the pasture.  And I knew why he was here. 

It was the bumper crop of bunnies we had this year.  They bred like…well…rabbits, and every time we stepped outside, there would be bunnies cavorting everywhere in the grass, apparently blissfully unaware of the fact that danger lurked nearby. 

He was a beautiful bobcat, and I badly wanted a better photograph than the smeary shots I could get through the window of the back door.  So, trying to be stealthy as a cat, I slowly opened the door and stepped out.  He looked up and our eyes locked.  But he didn’t move.  He just gazed coolly and steadily at me, perhaps sizing up my potential as tasty prey, and I gazed back, transfixed.  I was able to get off a couple of shots before I finally sent him bounding back into the forest when I tried to get a little closer.

But, for a moment, my heart beat a little faster, and so, I’m sure, did his.  But not as fast as the hearts of all the poor  little frightened bunnies in the grass. 

bunny-blog

(The Hunted)

bunnyleavingblog

15 Responses to “Our Wild Life”

  1. Margie Says:

    That was a truly terrific shot. He was nearly invisible in that grass.

  2. Judy Says:

    WOW! A bobcat right in your backyard! I would have been so excited but probably running the other way. I used to live on a lake and at night you could hear what sounded like a big cat screaming. People said it was bobcats. I never saw whatever it was but my imagination sure did run wild a few times when I came home late at night by myself. I think the picture is wonderful. If he lives around there, you will probably see him again. My girls have a red fox and his mate on their farm and they see them ever so often. They even come around the horses and the horses are not bothered by them. If your husband ever jumps up and yells for you to look at something, you need to head the other way! lol.

  3. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Hey even blurry that is a GREAT shot.
    WE’ve seen a bobcat around here, too. They’re a lot bigger than I ever thought. No way to mistake them for a cat.

    Funny…as you know WCU’s mascot is a catamount. Well, the catamount they have out front (and use in all of their marketing) looks like a bobcat, but if you Google “catamount”, you’ll get a panther or mountain lion, which looks very different. So we think that around here they must mean “bobcat” when talking about “catamount”. I guess bobcat doesn’t sound fierce enough.

    Having seen one, though, they are pretty smooth operators.

    Great post!

  4. colleen Says:

    I hope to see one someday. I’ve seen a bear only once and am told that big panther cats have been spotted in these mountains.

    I love the last hop shot.

  5. June Says:

    WOW! I’m not sure whether I want to see one at BBR or not :-)

  6. CountryDew Says:

    Great shot! You did well to get that.

  7. eemilla Says:

    I love how much the bobcat is sitting ready to pounce or run just like one of my cats; as for the quality of the shot, it is the only photo I believe I have seen here that doesn’t look professional.

  8. Clara Melvin Says:

    I love the picture…WOW! How many people can say they have made a picture of a bob cat in their back yard? Are you afraid to go outside at night time? What about bears? I’m so full of questions! LOL

  9. Peggy Says:

    Hi Beth, visiting from the piece maker blog. I have enjoyed your posts on your life and will visit again.
    Best wishes
    Peggy

  10. Jeff Says:

    So if a black bear ambled by the back porch, your husband would say, “Wow, look at that”? Hey, there are advantages to being non-plussed! I love the shot of the bobcat – I remember seeing one years ago, when this area wasn’t as heavily populated as it is now. Imagine what would happen if there were no bobcats to keep the rabbit population under control!

  11. Linda H Says:

    I had to laugh at your description of the exchange with your DH–sounds just like home!
    That is a great picture! A handsome specimen that I would guess is a very young adult. We have them frequently around our yard. Often they are bigger and quite faded/old looking. I once followed one of the younger ones to see where it would go. He knew, of course, that he was being tailed. After awhile he ran about 20 feet or so into a field and “hid” half way behind an old sprouted tree stump–quite visible. I stopped at the fence to watch. I was amused when he turned his head to the side, pointedly ignoring me just like a housecat. He won–I got tired of “watching” and went back home.

  12. Sara Says:

    That is TOO cool! I love nature, even when it’s a little too close for comfort. It’s reassuring to know that it’s still out there…..

  13. Karen Says:

    What a gorgeous animal! I would love to see one!

  14. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    Wow! That’s amazing! Thank goodness you thought quick and grabbed the camera!

    Happy New Year!

    http://www.GreenerPastures–ACityGirlGoesCountry.blogspot.com

  15. CountryDew Says:

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers