Thankful

goodbye-summer-blog

We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.                                                                       –Thornton Wilder

I know, I know…ridiculous that I should be writing a post saying goodbye to summer when we’ve had several snows already and are bidding adieu to fall.  But that’s me—always one step, one week, one season behind.  A day late and a dollar short. 

But, after all, it’s only been three weeks since my summer flowers reluctantly yielded to Jack Frost.  It was miraculous really how they stood fast against the bitter cold for so long.  But there came a day when there was a certain rawness in the air, and I knew my flowers wouldn’t last the night.  So I gathered some of my favorite blossoms and moved them indoors where, amazingly, they stayed fresh for two weeks!  So I still had summer on my kitchen table, at least.  :-)  

And, after all, as Thanksgiving draws near, it seems appropriate to feature some of the things I’m most thankful for.  So, here are some images (taken here at the doublewide ranch) of my own summertime treasures, for which I am most grateful. 

My Thanksgiving prayer for all of us is that we may always have a grateful heart—because a grateful heart is a full heart.  My hope is that we may be always “conscious of our treasures.”

As W. J. Cameron said, “A thankful heart hath a continual feast.”  So, may we always have a feast for our stomachs, a feast for our eyes, and a continual feast for our hearts.

Happy Thanksgiving.

bluebird-blog

a-womans-work-is-never-done-blog

fritillary-blog

bee-on-coneflower-blog

honeybee-blog

fritillary-on-coneflower-blog

mama-and-baby-blog

grasshopper-emerges-blog

monarch-blog

mr-gnome-blog

15 Responses to “Thankful”

  1. Judy Says:

    Your pictures are just beautiful Beth and makes me tired of winter already. I love them all but I especially love the morning glory one. I am so thankful for everything that I have in life. There is not a day goes by that I don’t thank the Lord for all that he has given me and for just being alive to enjoy this world. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. Pat Says:

    “A feast for our stomachs, a feast for our eyes, and a continual feast for our hearts’…I love that!

    I think Mr. Gnome in the morning glories may be my favorite.

  3. June Says:

    Your thoughts ring true to me! Beth, these are some terrific photos…REALLY! Love the little bluebirds – I can never catch them so close – and that one of the grassopper…WOW! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving…

  4. CountryDew Says:

    Those are lovely photos. Great close ups. Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. eemilla Says:

    Ahh, what beautiful pictures. Although I love morning glories, my favorite is the bee with the daisy; unfortunately, I am not good with flower names.

  6. Margie Says:

    Wonderful pictures!

  7. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Beautiful pictures, lovely and appropriate quotes.

    I especially love the bluebirds and the grasshopper shedding his skin. How do you get such amazing photos?

    I also especially love the “feast” analogy, for this week. Thank you for reminding us to keep a grateful heart.

    Have a lovely, peaceful, grateful holiday, my friend.

  8. Benjamin Says:

    I like these–especially the bluebirds and the “contemplative gnome shot”. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!!

  9. colleen Says:

    Oh my! Gorgeous. Although the grasshopper looks like an erector set one.

    My cosmos was the last to go.

  10. Going Crunchy Says:

    I must madly run out to Goodwill and gets birdfeeders. I so want to see that! Beautiful Beth! Shannon

  11. Cathy Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Your photos are awesome!!!!
    Have a wonderful day!!!
    Cathy

  12. marion Says:

    Gorgeous! Brings peace to my heart.

  13. Jeff Says:

    How in the world do you get those butterflies to sit still long enough to push the button? Such great shots! I love the bluebirds – my neighbor claims she has seen one or two (they migrate through South Florida) but I’ve never been so lucky!

  14. Linda H Says:

    Beautiful post–in word and photo! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  15. Clara Melvin Says:

    Your photos brought Summer back to my heart! Thank You!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers