The Coexistence of Joy and Sorrow

cardinal-blog

What makes me happy:

That my beloved North Carolina transformed from red to blue in this election,  when my fellow North Carolinians expressed their faith in Barack Obama by a margin of 13,693 souls.

What makes me sad:

The spite, malice, and ill will I hear in the voices of some of those in this state who didn’t vote for Obama and refuse to support him now, many of whom call themselves Christians.  I offer the words of Jesus in Matthew 12:25 and 36, 37:

“Every kingdom divided against itself is brought to desolation; and every city or house divided against itself shall not stand…I say unto you that every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account of it in the day of judgment.  For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words, thou shalt be condemned.”

What makes me sad:

That our persimmons this year are just slightly larger than grapes (likely because of the drought) but they have huge seeds, which means that the persimmon pulp I get from one persimmon is about the size of a grain of rice, which means that I won’t be able to make my Grandma’s persimmon pudding this year.

What makes me happy:

That my bird friends don’t mind that the persimmons are small.  They dine daily in our persimmon trees and their chirps and chatter cheer me, so my heart is full, even if my stomach isn’t.

cedarwaxwingsblog

What makes me sad:

That most of my flowers are gone now.  I especially miss the happy, bright Crayola colors of my zinnias. 

frittilary-on-zinnias-blog

What makes me happy:

The amazing seed heads of some spent flowers, like Queen Anne’s Lace, and the seed pods of the morning glory.

seed-head-blog

seed-pod-morning-glory-blog

And now…what makes me happiest:

When my sweet babies are home.

my-sweet-babies-blog

14 Responses to “The Coexistence of Joy and Sorrow”

  1. June Says:

    Ah Beth, I do love reading your posts. Life seems to be a collection of opposites for us to synthesize. Yin & Yang. Great shots, by the way.

  2. CountryDew Says:

    What a great post. I am so happy you’re visiting your loved ones. Makes it all worthwhile, doesn’t it?

  3. Margie Says:

    Great post! Very sweet!

  4. eemilla Says:

    Ahh, what joy would there be without sadness? Thanks for the reminder that there are other pieces of beauty in the fall aside from the vibrant leaves, and I think the hope will pull together regardless of what the naysayers may say about the upcoming administration. One of my ultra conservative co-workers has already come around a good bit in the past several days. I am sure I will be back to enjoy more writing, but nevertheless have a great time with the family!

  5. Jeff Says:

    Beautiful photos! I share your concern about the bitterness of those who supported McCain/Palin. I got into a tussle with a co-worker today when I turned off his radio – he was listening to Limbaugh. I told him that I had no space in my heart for divisive talk radio and that feeling also applied to Air America. We all live in this country and we all need to get along and stop thinking in terms of black and white.

    I see cedar waxwings down here in South Florida – they must migrate through this area. I always have trouble remembering their names! :-)

  6. Nancy Says:

    Wow, Beth! Such beautiful babies! Your post makes me feel warm and happy and full of the promise of Spring. Maybe that’s how we should feel about the shriveled, ugly pods of leftover racism…that out of the ugliness of our past will come the promise of our future. There is always promise where there is love.

  7. Judy Says:

    What beautiful children you have. I know they are the light of your life. My state did not go blue and probably never will. Like you, I hear so many say they will not support Obama. It makes me sad to think how small some people can be. He is now our president and we should all support him. I am sure your birds love those persimmons. As usual, your photography is wonderful and I enjoyed the pictures so much. I especially enjoyed getting to see your children.

  8. Clara Melvin Says:

    Hi Beth, it makes me mad also to hear someone say they will not support Obama. I think he is going to do great. He is already proving himself to me. I love your pictures in this post, especially your babies. They look so sweet. Is this the daughter that has a WII? I have been trying to find the game where you said somone was floating down the river in a bubble and you have to dodge all of these things to keep from getting your bubble burst. Would you ask her the name of that game? That would make me very happy!

  9. Benjamin Says:

    I look forward to seeing you again…and I’m jealous of those bird shots, by the way…:-)

  10. Debi Kelly Van Cleave Says:

    Hi Meg. Jeff said I better come here and read your blog. I told him how I am writing a story for my blog about how Sarah Palin turned me off religion for the same reasons you said you were sad. He basically said there are religious people who actually practice what they preach and I should read you. So here I am. It’s refreshing to see that not all the religious folks are like the ones I’ve been seeing behaving so badly about this election.

    And yes, as everyone said, beautiful pictures!

    http://www.GreenerPastures–ACityGirlGoesCountry.blogspot.com

  11. luckypennies Says:

    Wow…these photos are stunning! Especially the bird ones. And that last one. Those are some really good-looking kids! :D I can’t wait to be home for Thanksgiving! I love the parallel structure of this post. Very nice.

    Clara, I can’t remember off the top of my head what the name of the bubble game is, and we don’t currently have the Wii set up. But it’s easy to find it…log into the Wii Fit software and go to the games and exercises, then select balance games. If you haven’t played many other balance games, you probably haven’t unlocked it yet and won’t be able to play it until you do. It is highly addictive, so play with caution.

  12. Clara Melvin Says:

    Thank You, luckypennies. I will go there.

  13. Shannon Says:

    Lovely post Beth, and beautiful pictures! Shannon

  14. colleen Says:

    You reminded me t hat I still haven’t filled out bird feeder. And now there’s snow on the ground!

    Life is bittersweet. Seems like both balance on the head of a pin and the bitter makes the sweet sweeter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers