When Vegetables Go Bad

Yes, this is a peaceful still life of one of the final harvests from our garden.  But don’t be fooled by the serene and tranquil look of these vegetables!  Because little do we know what can occur when we’re not looking,  when we take our eyes off our produce,  when we look away….

Because sometimes, they may look good on the outside, but inside—they are rotten—rotten to the core….

Regard your produce with great wariness, because at any moment, after you’ve turned your back on your vegetables,  you may suffer the consequences of your careless neglect 

And discover,  to your horror,  what happens….

WHEN VEGETABLES GO BAD!!!!!

And, sadly, (when vegetables go bad), there may even be a clash, a sudden face-off,  between those who once grew up peaceably together in the garden…

Who, at one time, were just happy little sprouts waving in the warm, spring breeze…

Winter Squash:I’m gonna skin you alive, Tomato!  You’re gonna be sauce!”

Tomato:  “Oh yeah?  Well, I’m gonna squash you, Squash!”

Winter Squash:  “UmmI’m already squash.”

Tomato:  “Oh.  Yeah.”

12 Responses to “When Vegetables Go Bad”

  1. Jeff Says:

    So funny! Is there a hidden meaning in this piece? If so, I’d love to see it developed further.

  2. pticester Says:

    That’s hilarious!

  3. luckypennies Says:

    You are one sick cookie. :D

    Oh, wait, I’m the one who put the face on the squash. Hehe. He.

    I must say, that red pepper is perfect. But he’s far too cute to look vicious. It really shocked me when I scrolled down from the lovely still life, even knowing your penchant for googly eyeballs.

  4. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Thanks for the morning chuckle!

  5. Judy Says:

    You have an imagination like my son. I love the things you come up with.
    He used to take me out back and show me a bare spot on the ground and tell me the longest story you ever heard about when he saw this spaceship land and about what the aliens looked like that came out of it. This post made me think of that for some reason. He is doing much better. Thanks again for your prayers. I just love that bowl of monster vegetables.

  6. Clara Melvin Says:

    Oh Beth, you brought a smile to my face this morning. I had never thought about vegetables fighting. That is so funny.

  7. Pat Says:

    I must agree that the pepper looks quite sweet. And that non-fighting tomato looks delicious.

  8. Benjamin Says:

    Looks like they both need dental work, but that’s another story…

    For now, we’ll just let them fight for our entertainment…
    Thanks for the laughs, Mommy!

  9. Cathy Says:

    Thanks so much….you made my morning. I will add you to mine too, once I figure out how to do it…..not to worry…just a Newbie here…having fun though!!!
    What’s with the veggies??? did I miss something??? I must have…just so funny!!!!!!!

  10. colleen Says:

    Is this what they do at night when the lights go out?! I love it!

  11. We Dig This Carrot! « Blue Ridge Blue Collar Girl Says:

    [...] ‘round, folks. It’s time for the semi-annual posting of googly-eyed produce on Blue Ridge Blue Collar Girl. Yes, it true—with all the lofty talk in my last post about the [...]

  12. black fire Says:

    Hi, i think that i noticed you visited my web site so i came to return the prefer?.I am trying to to find issues to enhance my site!I suppose its good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers