Further Along the Road to Trust

Our stop at St. Jude’s Chapel of Hope left us subdued and pensive, but, I think….cleansed.  But our road trip wasn’t over.  We left Trust, driving further into Madison County to find Max Patch, considered by many to be the most beautiful spot on the Appalachian Trail.  In fact, it is called the “crown jewel of the Appalachian Trail.” The last part of the journey there was on a curvy, rutted dirt road, made lovelier by the red bee balm, daisies, Queen Anne’s lace, and Turk’s Cap lilies blooming beside it.   The good thing about a road like that is that no one can go very fast on it, so it was easy to stop right in the road (there being no shoulder to speak of)  and take pictures.  (Until, to our astonishment, a UPS truck came careening around the curve, putting a quick stop to our picture-taking). 

In the spirit of our subdued and pensive mood that day, I’ll let my photos speak for themselves, though my camera is inadequate to convey the true and breathtaking beauty there.  Just one thing:  if you get a chance to go to Max Patch—go.  By all means, go.

It was well worth the long drive and the dust on our car and feeling a wee bit insignificant in the midst of the sweeping grandeur of Max Patch—to be that much closer to heaven.

10 Responses to “Further Along the Road to Trust”

  1. luckypennies Says:

    That was a wonderful trip, and your pictures are a lovely reminder of it. :)

  2. Judy Says:

    Your pictures are wonderful. I would love to go there sometime and see the beauty of it all!

  3. Clara Melvin Says:

    Absolutely Beautiful. We live in one of the most beautiful places on earth. No matter where I roam, I’m always glad to return and see the beauty that surrounds East TN and NC.

  4. Benjamin Says:

    Thank you God. That’s all I can say.

    I trust in God, family, and any other pure love to be found.

  5. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Lovely post. Beautiful photos.

    My mom has been wanting to go to Max Patch for about two years now. I’ve been there but not since I was a kid. Your post has made me want to go again…Maybe I can talk Paul into taking a day off his studying. Hmmm.

    Love the photo of the butterfly on the Turk’s Cap Lily. I only see those on the Parkway anymore.

    As always, Bravo.

  6. wesleyjeanne Says:

    By the way, I also love the photo of Ariel and Benajmin with the mountains before them. Great shot.

  7. June Says:

    Looks like a bit of heaven! Is the road very precarious? I don’t mind a few bumps but I’m not good at ledges :-) I love that photo with the flowers in the foreground and the mountains in the distance…and that last one…a solitary figure in communion with the mountains. Well done!!

  8. colleen Says:

    You have quite an eye!

  9. Jeff Says:

    I love the shot of the butterfly on the Turk’s Cap Lily. That must have required a lot of patience and a very quick trigger finger. Butterflies are so fast!

  10. Cathy Says:

    Somehow I lost your blog address awhile back….maybe those Goblins you talk about. I am not sure if you will remember me, but about a year ago I sent you a comment about how much you inspired me to start my own blog, then I sent you a comment about the “egg tooth”. Remember ????? Anyway, I did start a blog…jumped right in a couple of months ago….so today, somehow I found your blog again…YIPPEE!!! I have a lot of reading to do to catch up. Congratulations on a full year….you did it!!!!
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers