Mea Culpa or…My Bad!

I have a confession to make.

Back in March, soon after we moved to our doublewide estate, I posted the picture above here, describing our “flowering cherry” tree.  It’s always so much fun when you move to a new place to discover, bit by bit, what’s growing there.  I feel about plants the way I feel about computers—the more I learn, the more I realize how little I know and the dumber I feel.  But I keep trying.  When this tree began to blossom in the spring, I googled “cherry tree blossoms,” compared the pictures I saw to our tree, and decided it must be a cherry tree.  Hence, my rapt description: Our flowering cherry humming with honeybees.

Anyway, a couple of months ago, Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man came in and said, “Honey, the cherries on that cherry tree sure are big and fuzzy!” 

“Huh?” I said stupidly.  I didn’t recall ever hearing about any known variety of fuzzy cherries, so I excitedly went out to see our “rare” cherry tree.  I should have been more suspicious when I heard Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man snickering behind me.  This is what I saw when I went out:

And this is what it looks like now:

So, now you know.  I’ve come clean.  The truth is…I really don’t know much about anything at all.   What I mean is…I’m kind of ignorant.  But I don’t mind.  Not to sound corny or anything, but I find it exciting to know that there’s so much more out there in our big, wide world to learn. 

So, I’d better get cracking….

But first, I think I’ll go pick some of those “big, fuzzy cherries.”  I’m thinking a big, fuzzy cherry cobbler for supper would be mighty tasty. :-)

9 Responses to “Mea Culpa or…My Bad!”

  1. wesleyjeanne Says:

    That’s okay…I said that my butterflies were Monarchs and someone corrected me and let me know that they are actually Tiger Swallowtails. Picture me embarrassed!

    Besides, your fuzzy cherries will make a better cobbler, I think.

    They make GREAT jam, too, if you’re up for some canning.

  2. Margie Miller Says:

    Wonderful, wonder looking peaches and hardly a mark on them. I wish I were there to share your cobbler.

  3. Anil Says:

    Super pictures. Nature is so fresh about everything. Need to return and read your blog.

  4. June Says:

    Oh, that’s funny! I do believe I’d prefer to have the fuzzy peaches. They look delicious!!

  5. Going Crunchy Says:

    Who cares if you are wrong……you get to “eat your words!” ;-)

  6. Judy Says:

    Those are the biggest, fuzziest cherries I ever saw! Who cares what you call them, just enjoy that cobbler. Blue Collar Man probably won’t let you forget this one for a while!

  7. Benjamin Says:

    Birders have errors five times that stupid–someone looked at a cowbird once and called it a sparrow…to think!!!

    And by the way, your pictures are beautiful–and showing up as intended.

  8. Clara Melvin Says:

    On my way home from Knoxville the other day, we pulled into a man’s yard to buy watermelon. In his back yard was a tree loaded with something. It was pretty far away. I thought it was a walnut tree full of walnuts. So don’t feel bad. My husband and the man selling watermelons had a smile on their face. I love your fuzzy cherry tree.

  9. eemilla Says:

    Oh I’ll take peaches over cherries any day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers