A Beautiful Bounty of Butterflies

 

(Swallowtail butterflies on bull thistle [just off the Blue Ridge Parkway] )

Since Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man got a job, we’ve celebrated by taking a number of short roadtrips with our kids, who are soon going to be heading back to college.  More details and photos of our roadtrips to follow, but, for now, I wanted to share this photo I shot on one of the many trails we took.

Yesterday, as we came to an intersection of trails, we came upon a fellow who was taking a picture of Joe-Pye weed.  I excitedly told him of the bull thistle covered with butterflies on the trail we’d just come from, thinking he’d want to take that too.

“Butterflies!”  he spat out, almost in disgust.  “I’ve taken so many shots of butterflies.  I’m sick of butterflies!”

We all looked at him with our mouths open in surprise, then burst out laughing.  We didn’t mean to be rude–it was just that the thought of being sick of butterflies seemed so ludicrous.  Sort of like being sick of rainbows, or bluebirds. or a baby’s giggle.

One thing for sure:  I’ll never get sick of butterflies.  Or the bright magenta of bull thistles against deep blue skies.  Or the sweep of blue mountains that stretch to infinity.  Or the sound of my children laughing.  Or road trips along the Blue Ridge Parkway with my favorite people in this world.

9 Responses to “A Beautiful Bounty of Butterflies”

  1. Judy Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip Beth. I love the butterflies, too, and don’t think I would ever get sick of them. That is funny. I am keeping Thomas Wyatt all night tonight so I will get to give him his new toys and wagon. I will try and get some pictures. He is so fast it is hard to get him to be still long enough to photograph him. Have a wonderful week. I am so glad things are looking up for you and your family.

  2. pticester Says:

    What a gorgeous photo!

  3. CountryDew Says:

    Great shot, again. I can’t imagine being sick of butterflies, either…

  4. June Says:

    Aside from never tiring of their beauty, I’m always interesting in besting previous shots of them…not to mention that each is a bit different than the last. I totally can’t relate to this guy. Glad you laughed. What a treat this sight must have been! And, lest nobody’s told you lately, you still weave magic with your words…

  5. wesleyjeanne Says:

    That is funny. I can’t imagine being sick of butterflies any more than I could being sick of these mountains.

    I’m glad you had this time as a family before the kids go back to school. Too soon.

  6. Margie Miller Says:

    Lovely butterflies!

  7. Clara Melvin Says:

    Awwww…that’s like being sick of the sunshine! Sad!!!

  8. Going Crunchy Says:

    Sick of butterflies?!? Pooey on him! Hope there are no more wanton hairspray incidents on this round of roadtrips. Shan

  9. eemilla Says:

    Well bah humbug; you do have to be careful on the Parkway because you can run into some crazy people. I love the shot at the top.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers