101 Things to Do with Squash

(Drawing by my daughter, Ariel (aka Lucky Pennies) when she was in high school)

The best thing about Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man’s new job (besides the paycheck) is that now we have a place where we can foist off gladly share our ridiculous glut blessed abundance of squash.  His second day of work, he took in a bag of squash and after looking furtively about, put it on the community table and ran.  I mean, there’s only so much squash you can unload on bestow upon  your neighbors.

That being said, we love summer squash.  Good thing, too, since we’ve eaten it almost every single night for supper.  I’ve become a master of disguising squash in a dish so that my family doesn’t realize they’re having squash…yet again.   It’s a very versatile vegetable—you can add it to almost everything.  And I have. 

Squash and chicken pasta salad; squash, bacon, and egg pasta salad; squash, parmesan, and ham pasta salad; the old reliable casserole with eggs and cheddar cheese; squash chicken teriyaki; squash with chili beans and rice; and, of course, squash sautéed in real butter with vidalias.  I even made a squash cake (one of my less successful experiments, I might add).

One of Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man’s co-workers told him a scary squash story about his brother-in-law, who planted a garden for the very first time.  He loved squash, so decided to put in 64 plants.  Yes, you read right—64.  Poor fella.  I reckon he pretty much did nothing this summer but harvest squash.  Because after he finishes harvesting the squash off 64 plants, the plants he started with would have produced squash again.  So he’d have to start all over picking, and the cycle would be endless. Sort of like Sisyphus pushing the rock uphill.

So, how’s your harvest this year?  How do you fix squash?

21 Responses to “101 Things to Do with Squash”

  1. luckypennies Says:

    You’ve done good to make a million dishes of squash seem original and unusual. And they’ve all been very tasty, I can attest to that.

    And I liked the squash cake, no matter what you say.

  2. Judy Says:

    I never heard of squash cake. The only ways I have ever fixed it is to slice it, dip it in cornmeal and fry it. I have made squash casserole like you said with the cheese. We used to raise it when we lived on the farm and 2 or 3 vines was plenty. I can’t imagine that guy that put out all those vines. Bet he was in for a surprise. I always like the zuchinni better and would grate it and freeze it for bread in the winter. Used to put the zuchinni in vegetable soup, too, and fry it as well. There is nothing like fresh vegetables right from the garden.

  3. pticester Says:

    My parents and mother-in-law both used to beg us to take huge amounts of squash everytime we went to visit. And they only planted a small amount.

    My favorite is sliced thinly, breaded and fried. But my mother-in-law used to fry squash and okra together. That was good, too.

  4. pticester Says:

    I forgot to add that I love all of your beautiful photos.

  5. wesleyjeanne Says:

    My dad makes squash fritters–pretty good. Or roasted with garlic (everything is better with lots of garlic).

    Garrison Keillor calls it squash larceny: when you accidentally leave your car or windows open during the summer and come back to it to find baskets of squash on the seat.

  6. June Says:

    Squash is a very versatile food…all parts of a menu too: appetizer, main course, even dessert. Much more so than blackberries which is our “crop”. We usually slice and grill ours after sitting for a time in an Italian seasoning dressing.

  7. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Another lover of the Sisyphus myth! Yah, Sisyphus! You are very creative in your stuff-em-with-squash recipes, and most of them sound delicious. I’m not so sure about a Squash Cake, in spite of the endorsement by LuckyPennies, who, by the way, is a wonderful artist.

    I think you’ve already read about MY garden, dear heart, but I’ll inflict it upon your readers, anyway (after all, you asked):
    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2008/07/picture-perfect-tomato.html

    And a comment on June’s comment: “We usually slice and grill ours after sitting for a time in an Italian seasoning dressing.” June, would you explain, please, why you sit for a time in an Italian seasoning dressing before slicing and grilling squash? LOLOL. Ooooh, I’m up too late and should shut up, already!

  8. Margie Miller Says:

    I don’t. But I loved your record of ways you fix it.

  9. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    This is strange … I thought I left a comment in the wee hours this morning, but it isn’t here. Maybe I was asleep when I tried to post it? What I think I said, more or less:

    Complimented you on your creative use of squash.
    Said most of it sounds good, but I’m not sure I’d like squash pie, in spite of the recommendation by LuckyPennies.
    Complimented Ariel on her art work.
    Asked June (who said, “We usually slice and grill ours after sitting for a time in an Italian seasoning dressing”) why she “sits for a time in an Italian seasoning dressing” before slicing and grilling squash.

    Oh, well, it isn’t any funnier this time than it was in the middle of the night!

  10. CountryDew Says:

    I put squash in spaghetti sauce. I stir fry it in olive oil and mix it with other veggies for a medley. Baked squash is very good, particularly with a tomato.

  11. Shannon Says:

    Yum! I’m eating my salad while reading your post and dreaming of squash. Can you make some squash soup and freeze it!

    I have a bumper crop of collards. Tasty stuff, tasty stuff. Shan

  12. Judy Says:

    I love fried squash. I fry it in bacon grease and onions and add a little sugar along with salt and pepper. My question is “if I have left-overs (which is very rare), is it okay to freeze? Thanks in advance.

    • blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

      Hi, Judy. That sounds delicious. I love squash sauteed in butter with Vidalia onions (that bacon grease sounds good too!) I’m really not sure about the freezing. I would recommend you look under your county name in the phone book and look for the number of the Cooperative Extension Agent. They can usually answer food-related questions like that. Good luck!

  13. Mark Says:

    I too always end up having an abundance of squash in the summertime. The funny thing is, one plant is all a household needs. It is amazing how much it fruits. But it sure is tasty. I’m sure most people can attest to the fact that grilled squash is out of this world. I like to marinate mine with olive oil, cider vinegar, and a little hot sauce, preferably Sriracha. Let it sit for 30 minutes or so, then throw it on a nice hot grill until charred. Other than that I’m at a loss at what the heck to do with it. It always ends up being a side dish for me. I’d love to be able to incorporate it with the main course every once and a while.

    • blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

      That sounds quite tasty, Mark. We’ve never tried grilled squash, but certainly will next time we fire up the grill. Thanks for the tip! Lord knows, we need some more ideas—we’ve got more squash than ever this year—-and, silly us, we planted zucchini, too. What were we thinking? :-)

  14. jamietreacy Says:

    Reblogged this on Skyline High School Visual Art and commented:
    Hi Art 1 and Art 2 Students! Check out this great squash drawing done by a high school student! Notice how the artist Ariel uses a variety of marks to help communicate the texture of the squash. Also, can you identify the different types of light and shadow she has expressed?

  15. ladybug Says:

    Hope I’m not too late with this. I’ve made squash pudding (many times; we love it); mock apple cobbler; squash dressing; and a variety of skillet and casserole variations with squash. Found lots of ideas online. There’s even a squash jam recipe, which I haven’t tried yet.

    • blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

      Thanks, Ladybug. No, you’re not too late—we still have a garden, which in late July is producing yellow squash at breakneck speed. I appreciate your ideas. Squash pudding sounds lovely—I’ll have to try that soon.

      Beth

  16. ladybug Says:

    Oh it is delicious! Squash pudding tastes much like pumpkin pie. I actually found several versions online, took from each and created my own. (Most of my cooking is done that way; guess I’m kindof a rebel!) Made a jambalaya last week; recipe was for eggplant but I said, well, “why not squash?”! We love all varieties of squash. We have pattypan squash this year and have “bestowed” much of our abundance upon friends!

    • blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

      Haha…I’m a cooking rebel, too. I almost always take creative license with recipes—make it my own. I realized that this week when I was sending a recipe to a friend. I sent it as I originally found it, but then added comments like, “But I like to add a bit of Parmesan with the Cheddar to give it a little bite” and “I sauté the onions in the butter instead of adding each separately.” :-)

      A salute to Rebel Cooks everywhere!

      Beth

      • ladybug Says:

        i know what you mean… whenever a friend says “I want this recipe” I have to explain all my revisions to the original. It can begin to sound complicated! Then, sometimes my “recipe” is simply a list of ingredients that I throw together.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers