A Light at the End of the Tunnel

(One of many tunnels on the Blue Ridge Parkway we went through yesterday)

As I wrote in a post here, I love reading (in my stats) the search terms that bring people to my blog.  A few days ago, I found this one:  “being broke empty nest job sucks blues.”  Now I’m not sure which of my previous posts brought that person’s search to my blog, but let me say to them, “My friend…I feel your pain.”  Except in our case, I’d replace the “job sucks blues” part with “no job blues.”

Yep, we’ve been without a job for seven months.  But not for lack of trying.  Lord knows, our job hunting has been almost a full-time occupation in itself.   And, without a doubt, being fifty (and over) makes it far more difficult to find work.  Apparently, youth trumps experience.  But that’s for another post.

So we’ve been a mite discouraged and disheartened when weeks have gone by without so much as an interview, not to mention being a little stressed at seven months without a paycheck.  But the good news is:  Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man has a job.  The bad news is:  It’s temporary.  But the good news is:  it has a good chance of becoming permanent.  But the bad news is:  It only pays $12.17 an hour.  But the good news is:  we are really, really good at being frugal.  As they say, we squeeze those pennies ‘til Abe Lincoln hollers. 

Not only that, but Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man has rebuilt the collapsed closet bemoaned in my last post with shelves made from salvaged wood and a clothes rod made from the top rail of a chain link fence.  Those shelves could hold a tractor engine.  I’ll never have to worry about closet collapse catastrophes in our bedroom again.   Then my intrepid and clever handyman took the back off our broken television, removed the stuck videotape, tinkered around, and got our TV working again.   In addition, he jacked up my Camry and poked and prodded until he figured out what was making the strange noise when I turned the wheel.  He made a few adjustments and now she’s purring like a kitten.

So there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, and we can breathe again.   Sure, gas is still almost four dollars a gallon, but at least we have a job to drive to.  And, sure, George W. Bush is still in office, but it’s only a few months longer.  Praise be. We live in one of the most beautiful places on earth, we have a front porch to dream on, and we have a garden with flowers for the soul and food for the body.  How can I not feel hopeful?  How can I keep from singing?

11 Responses to “A Light at the End of the Tunnel”

  1. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Indeed, no storm should shake your inmost calm, while to that rock you’re clinging.

    Good news. I will continue to keep you in my prayers, though.

    Which direction did you go on the Parkway? Are there more photos to share? The Parkway is enough to soothe any weary soul.

  2. Judy Says:

    Love the picture of the tunnel and am so glad things are looking up for you. I, too, shall keep you in my prayers that things continue to improve.

  3. June Says:

    I see you’re a glass half full girl! Glad to hear things are starting to look up…I think of you often and send good wishes along when I do.

  4. linda42 Says:

    So good to read a post that isn’t whining about something. I love your attitude about life. That man of yours seems like he’s worth keeping around. I do hope the new job turns into a permanent situation.

  5. Melinda Says:

    I started out looking for pictures of morning glory seedlings and have spent the last half hour marveling at your outlook on life. We’ve been unemployed for three months with a husband who does not understand making Lincoln yelp. (Somehow he thinks if you put two quarters together they will multiply!) I aspire to a victorian doublewide in a place where my soul can breathe.

    Thank you!

    PS And having committed the sin of overplanting squash, I nearly fell out of my chair laughing at your foisting/sharing strategies for getting rid of the darn things. The definition of a person with no friends? Someone buying zucchini in August!

    • blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

      Hi, Melinda. Thanks so much for your kind words about my writing. I’m so sorry about your job loss—I certainly know how that can turn your life upside down. Sometimes, though, learning to do without material things helps you to focus on what is really important. But it sure is a kick in the pants when you don’t expect it. Best wishes to you and your husband as you look for work. It can be very discouraging, but so many times, the most wonderful opportunities arise from what at first seems to be misfortune. Hang in there!

      P.S. We never seem to learn—this year we planted BOTH squash and zucchini. What were we thinking? Thank goodness for friends and neighbors and co-workers to foist them off to! (I loved your definition of a person with no friends) Hee, hee…

  6. Holey « S. Kim Henson's blog Says:

    [...] for the photo http://blueridgebluecollargirl.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/a-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel/   Leave a [...]

  7. eemilla Says:

    Wow! Tom is awesome.

  8. Stranger Says:

    Can I borrow your picture of the tunnel please? I want to used it as the background for one of my pictures. When I searched google and saw your photo, my thought was like “this is definitely the one”. So here I am, asking for permission to use your photo. Pleaseeeee? :)

  9. stranger Says:

    You’re nice :D Thanks, I will post the link to your photo in my picture description. Thanks, again

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers