Morning Walk

There are few things sweeter for me, I think, than an early morning walk through our pasture.  Earlier in the summer, the field was sprinkled with daisies, but now, blue clouds of chicory hover just above the ground.  Bunnies startle up from the weeds and wildflowers as I pass, and birds dart out of honeysuckle thickets. The people who previously lived here kept cattle, which in turn kept the fields nibbled down and fertilized.  But we have mown meandering paths through the meadow that wander past the red barn, alongside our neighbor’s beehives, through the chicory, and near a lovely stand of fire pinks.

People keep telling us that we really should keep livestock, as though we are squandering our land riches by keeping the barn and field empty.  But the fields aren’t empty at all.  Besides the birds, bees, and bunnies, we’ve spied deer, coyotes, bobcats, and a handsome black snake.  And, yesterday, we were astonished to see an enormous bull in our pasture that had broken through from our neighbor’s place, likely enticed by our untouched forage. 

“That’s a lotta bull,” I said.

“Yep,” said Tom. “That’s a lotta bull.”

Thankfully, we had remembered to close the gate to our field because the bull made his way into our little barn, where he repeatedly rammed the utility trailer we keep there, knocking it over, possibly because it had a bit of hay underneath.  I was afraid he might trample our chicory, or the fire pinks, or the butterfly weed.  But fortunately, our neighbor, with the help of Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man, was able to lure the bull back home with the promise of fresh feed and a pretty bovine girl.

Normally, though, our pasture is peaceful and the silence of early morning broken only by birdsong.  It is not only a sanctuary for wildlife, but a sanctuary for us—our refuge in troubled times.  It’s hard to feel hopeless in the face of so much life.  Despite all the miseries and tribulations of this world, life goes on as usual here in our little meadow. 

So we will continue to smile when folks suggest that we should “do something with that pasture.”  Our barn may be empty, but our hearts are full.  Without cattle to eat them, wildflowers bloom, then go to seed (to the birds’ delight).   I listen to the hum of hundreds of bees making their morning rounds as I walk the dew-jeweled paths, and I breathe in the cool, early air.  Breathe in, breathe out.  Just breathe.   And that, for now, is all I need.  That, for now, is sufficient.

8 Responses to “Morning Walk”

  1. Judy Says:

    Your pasture sounds just wonderful to me. I love quiet and serene places filled with flowers. The pictures are great. I love the flower with the bee on it. I can imagine how much you love walking there each day and how many new and different things you see. Nature is so awesome.

  2. colleen Says:

    I even like the word pasture and what it conjures in my mind. I once got chased by a bull. I had three little kids with me! It came around a corner and charging, but stopped short of charging into us. My life flashed before my eyes and I used the power of every fiber in my body to will it to stop. You know the mother lion that lives in mothers. Love those flowers!

  3. June Says:

    “It’s hard to feel hopeless in the face of so much life. Despite all the miseries and tribulations of this world, life goes on as usual here in our little meadow.” – So very true! It’s hard to stay inside myself when there’s so much going on around me. Nature is indeed a sanctuary…

  4. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Beautiful post and I can envision the pasture and your view perfectly. I’m so happy you have such a refuge. I, too, always find peace in nature.

  5. CountryDew Says:

    Beautiful post! I’m right there with you on the nature thing. Nothing manmade can surpass it.

  6. april Says:

    I am delighted to have discovered your blog! I am a fellow WNC woman enjoying the scenery and thankful to be here. I am blown away by your photographs-especially the birds from last week. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Going Crunchy Says:

    Oh, that is beautiful Beth! No bull about it! Shannon

  8. Gordon Smith Says:

    BlogAsheville netizen,

    See you Friday?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers