Shootin’ the Birds

[Great Crested Flycatcher with green cigar????]

I’ve been stalking birds.  Why?  Well, to shoot them, of course.

What?  Oh no, not for dinner.  Just shooting my Cannon…umm…Canon.  It allows me to capture forever the way the Great Crested Flycatcher looked as she waited to feed a juicy grasshopper to her baby.

You might say I’m a sort of bird paparazzi.  And like any good paparazzi, I’m looking for candid shots—perhaps even embarrassing ones.  That is, if birds got embarrassed.  I don’t suppose they do.  But they do get annoyed at the big, bushy-haired creature that follows them relentlessly. 

Unfortunately, unlike real paparazzi, I don’t have a fancy camera with a fancy telephoto.  So, my shots tend to be a little blurry and/or grainy.   But they give me pleasure.  And, if there were an avian equivalent to the National Enquirer, I could probably sell these shots for a pretty penny.  I can imagine the headlines:  Goldfinch Seen Wearing Disguise!  Bird Snapped With Fake Groucho Nose and Glasses! Exclusive photos!  Or maybe:  Mockingbird Finally Snaps!  Seen Throwing Tantrum!  Other Birds Say, “She was always using fowl language…and tended to brood.”

(Is it just me or does this goldfinch look like Groucho Marx?)

(Mockingbird having hissy fit)

(Robin in a private moment)

10 Responses to “Shootin’ the Birds”

  1. June Says:

    Beth, these are fantastic spots and shots!

  2. Judy Says:

    It was easy enough to pick out the one that looks like groucho! I love the first one, also. Great shots as always.

  3. CountryDew Says:

    Excellent work! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that first bird.

  4. colleen Says:

    You captured some really unique shots. You have a great eye. These birds are a hoot and I love the day lilies and their alter egos below.

  5. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Groucho Marx reincarnated? My favorite: “Mockingbird having hissy fit.” Nothing else would fit that photo so perfectly!

  6. Going Crunchy Says:

    Bahhh-hhhaaa-hhhhaaaa. Love the Grouncho! Shannon

  7. Linda Hancock Says:

    Groucho Marx?…..You’re right! I see the resemblance. Oh, how funny. I’ll look at our little golden guys to see if there is a Groucho among them.
    Great pix. Good sense of humor.

  8. Clara Melvin Says:

    I love your pictures. We are not very far apart. I live just outside of Bristol, TN. I have been over in your neck of the woods MANY times.

  9. eemilla Says:

    I love your Groucho Marx goldfinch!

  10. Elizabeth Murcko Says:

    What wonderful bird photos!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers