Ariel Says Goodbye…to the Teenage Years

(Ariel and faithful friend Teddy Bear)

Perhaps you’re thinking, after my last post, “Good Lord, she sure isn’t very modest about her children!”  Well, you’re darn tootin’ I’m not.  I am unabashedly, unapologetically, bust-my-buttons proud of my children.

In my last post, I talked about Benjamin.  Today, I’ll shamelessly brag about my daughter, Ariel (aka Lucky Pennies).  Why?  Because today she is leaving teenagehood behind and beginning the third decade of her life. 

I could talk about her academic achievements.  Like her brother, she was at the top of her class and was nominated for Governor’s School.   I could go on about her artistic accomplishments.  Ariel has won numerous awards for her art, including a $500 gift certificate.  I could tell you all about her writing.  She has won numerous awards for that, as well, including a $5000 scholarship. 

But what I’m proudest of is the fact that she is straightforward, honest, true, and kind.  And she has remained steadfastly so, through some very hard times and difficult losses.  She has been a wonderful sister to her brother Benjamin.  Although there were times, when younger, that they fought like mortal enemies, she has always loved him fiercely.  She is loyal, loving, and true to her many friends, and they love her back.  And, of course, she is just the daughter I always wanted.   Well, sure, we’ve had our battles—Good Lord, she is a stubborn one!   But those battles only serve to show that our love is so much greater than our differences.  Always, love prevails. 

(Ariel Rabbit and Bunny Rabbit)

Every time I write Ariel at college, I close by saying “I love you infinitely” or “I love you without measure” or “I love you endlessly and forever” or some variation on that.  Ariel, being the competitive sort, will write back saying, “I love you infinitelier” or “I love you more endlessly.”

So, I’d like to say to my sweet baby girl:  I love you infiniteliest.   And I love you most endlessly.

And Happy Birthday, sugarbaby.  You really are just the daughter I always wanted.  I’m proud to be your mother.  And I’m proud to be your friend.

(I wanted to put a picture of Ariel now here, but she is in the thick of exams and never answered my letter asking if I could.  So I don’t think she’d mind if I put this photo of her and her Daddy working on our ancient Volvo.  She’s pretty handy with a wrench, not to mention a hammer.)

9 Responses to “Ariel Says Goodbye…to the Teenage Years”

  1. bluemountainmama Says:

    what a lovely tribute to your daughter! i’m also a lucky one…. to have a very close relationship with my mom. happy birthday, ariel!

    and i want to come back and catch up on your posts about benjamin. it’s beeen busy as of late. have a great day, beth!

  2. June Says:

    You’ve got reason to be tooting! Hard to figure who’s luckier – you or them. You can’t have one without the other. You are a special person, that’s for sure. As it happens, I’ve so noted this on Spatter today.

  3. June Says:

    You’ve got reason to be tooting! Hard to figure who’s luckier – you or them. You can’t have one without the other. You are a special person, that’s for sure. As it happens, I’ve so noted this on Spatter today.

  4. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Happy Birthday Ariel!

    Beth, you are right to be proud of both of your children. Even in my limted interactions with them, I can see that they are fine people–like their mama.

    I wish you had used the “smart glasses” photo. I like that one and the story behind it.

    Wesley

  5. luckypennies Says:

    Awwwwww. Thank you so much. This is a lovely birthday post. But of course, I love you the most infiniteliester. :D

    And thank y’all for the birthday wishes!

  6. colleen Says:

    The lucky penny does not fall far from the rest of the money. You have done your part in the shinning up of what makes her so rich. I’m smiling because I understand how you feel.

  7. CountryDew Says:

    Congratulations all around!

  8. marion Says:

    Never apologize about bragging on your kids! Sounds like you did a wonderful job raising them.

  9. Benjamin Says:

    Ariel: I haven’t seen you for two months, and you’re going to come back for four days before you go back?!? Just kidding; I’m glad to see you any. Happy birthday, and thank you for being what you are to me–everything.

    Mommy: Great job in raising us…brilliant patience, love, and wisdom all the way through.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers