She Dreams of Falling

 steps-at-stone-blog.jpg

(Steps on our hike last year at Stone Mountain State Park, North Carolina)

No, I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth, though I do dream most nights about falling.  And, no, I haven’t given up on my blog, though it has been woefully neglected, along with my commenting on all your wonderful blogs.  I am truly sorry.

More immediate and urgent concerns have commanded our attention of late.  The good news is:  We have sold our house and the new owner wants to take possession very, very soon.  The bad news is:  We have sold our house and the new owner wants to take possession very, very soon.

And, as of today, we have nowhere to go.

Until today, we have been looking to buy a home in the place to which we’re moving.  The trouble is, people there apparently haven’t gotten the word that it’s a buyer’s market now.  They all want outrageous amounts of money for their houses and land. And we don’t have that kind of money to spare.  And we’re not that picky—we just want a couple of acres or more in the country where we can see mountains and clouds and stars.  The house doesn’t have to be fancy—a trailer will do. 

Anyway, at this point, we’ve gone from mild anxiety to full-blown panic.  And needless to say, we’re looking for short-term rental—just so we don’t end up sleeping in our U-Haul truck.   Did I mention that we haven’t found work yet? Did I mention that the pain from my slipped rib problem returned, so that I’ve taken to sleeping in a recliner?  Did I mention that my car’s reverse gear suddenly stopped working out of nowhere (at sixty-thousand miles)?  Looks like I’ll be getting a transmission for my fiftieth birthday.  Yay.

And please don’t lecture me on how it would have been prudent to have gotten a job before making a drastic move.  Yes, that’s how it would have happened in an ideal world where eveything works out just as you’ve planned.  Lord knows, we’ve tried.  But nothing yet.  The reality is:  we’ve sold our house and we have to move.  I’m sure we’ll find work in time.  Blue Ridge Blue Collar Man is one hell of a carpenter and a highly skilled handyman besides.  Oh, and he writes poetry.  But not on the job.  :-)

And now you can see why I haven’t been writing.  Not only a lack of time, but a growing lack of my usual cock-eyed optimism and a general crankiness that I didn’t wish to burden my readers with.  But I did want you to know that, Lord willing, I’ll be back—both writing and reading your writing.  So please don’t give up on me or my little blog.  And please, if you’re so inclined, say a little prayer for us.  Sometimes I’m not so sure mine are getting through.

15 Responses to “She Dreams of Falling”

  1. June Says:

    Most homes in the NC mountains are super expensive. It’s one of the factors that had us buy in SW Virginia…though land there is appreciating a lot these days too. My thoughts are with you every morning when I check for a blog entry from you. You can count on my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Shannon Says:

    Howdy Beth,

    I can spare some time helping you research online. If you would like to e-mail any details privately I’ll be happy to poke about. I can check online classified for you and rentals. If we can all pitch in a little bit here and there maybe we can get you up to speed?

  3. Shannon Says:

    Oh so sorry, I clicked submit on accident.

    When I’ve moved on the fly you can always get an extra week or so at Extended Stays. Husband and I had to use one before when we needed a couple of weeks to look for an apartment. Don’t get desperate……you can always store you stuff and get a weekly rental until you figure out where you want to be. Granted, it isn’t ideal but it will buy you time. Just pretend you’re on vacation!

    You could also try to take a temp position while you look for a job. They don’t pay amazing, but a paycheck beats no paycheck anytime. That can also tide you over. There are all sorts of temporary positions!

    So good thoughts…..and good thoughts for the rib! We’ve been waiting to hear how you are!

    And don’t forget your Library wherever you go. You can usually go in and get hooked up to an Internet and such to research and/or apply for jobs. Some even have job centers depending upon where they are. Shannon

  4. wesleyjeanne Says:

    Yes, yes I agree with Shannon–good thoughts–and please let us know how we can help.

    The WNC market is nuts isn’t it? Didn’t they get the memo? The real estate market is bust–it’s not the time to get rich and sell a $300k fixer-upper!

    We’ll all be thinking of you and wishing you the best!

  5. colleen Says:

    Love the photo combined with the title. And appreciate the update. I hope you get your couple of acres of sky soon!

  6. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    I understand your dreams of falling! That isn’t what I’ve been dreaming, but I am well aware of my dream-maker’s propensity to have fun with metaphors. Sounds like you need lots of prayers, and you have mine thrown in there to help you find a place, find a job, heal your slipped rib, “heal” your transmission problems, etc. Yep, I’m praying for you that things get better, FAST.

    ~~~ Bonnie

  7. bluemountainmama Says:

    oh, i DO hope everything falls into place for you guys. i understand about finding a house…. our rural area hasn’t picked up on the buyer’s market thing, either. keep your chin up and update us as things progress!

    my blog has been low on the priority list lately, too. we’ll all be here when you return….. good luck!

  8. jennifersaylor Says:

    Beth,

    As you know, I live in Asheville. I have a very large, reasonably dry finished basement you can store your stuff in, and, in fact, an empty guest room. Let me know if I can help in any way.

  9. CountryDew Says:

    I’m concerned about that rib pain. Consider a massage therapist or a chiropractor, okay? That’s gone on a very long time.

  10. ben (aka guitarmaniac) Says:

    God Bless You.

    And heed my verse from the last comment.

    You are a hurt child of God, but a loved one for sure. Keep on writing. It’s good for the spirit. :-D You will be in my prayers and in my heart.

  11. bluemountainmama Says:

    hey beth! just checking in to see how you are doing. i hope things are working out in your favor….

  12. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Can Beth come out to play, just for a few minutes? I came to deliver this invitation:

    Come on over to Bonnie’s Books (http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2008/02/awards-ceremony-dress-appropriately.html). Dress up because I’m having an awards ceremony complete with gala. And do bring along your acceptance speech, though the producers are asking that each person receiving an award please limit your speech to five minutes … save your longer comments for your own blog, when you pass along the award(s).

  13. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    I hope you find your way back online soon; I miss you and wonder how things are going for you.

  14. fred1st Says:

    Remind me where in NC you’re relocating to. We spent two years in Sylva, and seven in Morganton, may know some realtors etc there.

  15. Shannon Says:

    Hi Beth, I was excited when you popped back online for a bit. How are you? Where are you? How is it going? I miss your writings! Shannon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers