It Ain’t Halloween Without a Haint

 on-our-path-blog.jpg

Happy Halloween to you and yours!

If you were sauntering along the quarter-mile path we made to meander through our back woods, just as you reached the bottom, first you’d see the big bench we built down there.  It’s where we like to sit and dream (a lot) and cry (sometimes) and watch the shy wood thrushes (my favorite bird).  Then, you might gasp in horror and scream as you espy this fellow on the old dead stump to your right. 

Yes, be afraid.  Be very afraid.

Who is he?  I’ll leave it to you to decide.  Is he that errant hunter who shot his gun just a little too close to our house?  Is he the tourist from Charlotte who owns the million dollar vacation house near us and thinks that entitles him to trespass on anyone’s land because he is a Big Shot?  Is he the guy I caught stealing my ginseng?

Only the animals and trees and spirits of the forest know for sure.  And they’re not telling.  And neither shall I.   Bwaahahahaha!

8 Responses to “It Ain’t Halloween Without a Haint”

  1. Rhea Says:

    I’ve got some creepy masks like that. Some are so scary I don’t even dare wear them!

  2. June Says:

    Creepy! The question in my mind is not so much who he was, but what he must have been thinking in his last moment to get that expression!

  3. CountryDew Says:

    Spooky! Bet that keeps the evil gnomes away from your bench!

    Hope your Halloween was a good one.

  4. luckypennies Says:

    Ahahahahaaa! You got the perfect angle on him.

    I think he’s being carried off by a big mean Ent who didn’t like him. Just one more reason to be a treehugger!

  5. marion Says:

    Good blog! And thanks for your lovely comment on my blog…I don’t know why you have to re-register every time to comment. I don’t have any blocking in place. Next time, go into my Profile & click on E-Mail, and just send me a comment that way.

    I know what you mean about having to do this, and do that, etc. And dial-up…grrr! That nearly destroyed our marriage when it tied up a phone line and/or caused us to negotiate for time slots!

    I have 4 online bills I set up to pay; every single one of them requires their specific kind of user name and password, then they won’t recognize it, I e-mail them, they send me the same one I just entered…and I only want to pay a phone bill, for crying out loud. Why would I care who can access our landline phone bill? If I wanted to hide something, I’d use my cell phone.

    Sorry…sometimes I rant!

  6. colleen Says:

    I’m going to have to go look up haint. Are you saying haunt with an accent? Cool photo shot!

  7. blueridgebluecollargirl Says:

    Actually, “haint” is a variation on “haunt.” I believe it may be used chiefly here in the South, as in “Y’all come see my haint!”

  8. benjamin (aka guitarmaniac) Says:

    I definitely think it was one of the rich dudes (note his shocked expression) …they never can believe that *anything* bad should happen to them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers