The Simple Life

I’m new to this blogging stuff, so I’m still fumbling in the dark when it comes to figuring out all the dandy doodads available through my excellent blogging host WordPress.  But I did manage to pick up on how to add tags to my posts.  (I am amazed at the resourcefulness people show in working as many as fifteen tags into their posts!)

When I wrote this post, “Being There,”  I decided to make one of my tags The Simple Life.  After I posted, I clicked on the tag The Simple Life listed with my post to read what others had written on the subject.  I expected musings on nature, perhaps spiritual observations, or maybe, like me, simple people writing about their simple lives.  Imagine my bewilderment when I started scrolling down the page:  Paris Hilton, Nicole Richie, Paris, Nicole, pregnant, DUI, eating disorder….

Say what?

It turns out there is a reality show called The Simple Life that stars Paris Hilton and Nicole Richie.  Now I have a feeling that this is pretty common knowledge.  But in case you’re saying, “Good grief, blueridgebluecollarwoman, have you been living in a cave?!!”  Well, no, but I do live in a mountain valley, which gives us terrible television reception.  There was a little satellite dish here when we came, but we never had it connected.  So we’re a little out of the loop when it comes to modern pop culture.  Before our teenagers went to college, they kept us just enough in the loop to be able to not look like total idiots at social gatherings.  But now that they’re gone, we’re slipping, I think, into some sort of time warp that renders us socially inept when conversations turn to TV and celebrities.

So I Googled The Simple Life.  It seems that the idea of the show is to put Paris and Nicole into situations far out of their comfort zone, which, it seems, would be almost any situation in the real world, since their world as rich, socialite party girls must be a bit small and limited.  It’s interesting to note that the description of the show on the Internet Movie Database included this line:

Plot Keywords:

Superficial / Superficiality / Stupidity 
 
I’m thinking that these keywords might be significant.  Now since I’ve never seen the show, I can’t comment on its quality.  But it seems unlikely that someone like me whose favorite TV show of all time is The Andy Griffith Show would be a fan.  I’m pretty sure I’d take Thelma Lou over Paris any day.  There is some portent, I suppose, in the fact that I tried to tag a post about nature and spirituality with The Simple Life, only to find the phrase hijacked by two bleached blonde playgirls.  But I don’t want to think about it right now.

I quickly changed my tag to Living Simply, and soon after, my post disappeared from the Simple Life page.  But I do enjoy imagining someone clicking on my post, hoping to see the latest pictures of Paris and Nicole, but being greeted instead with the terrible beauty of a flower spider, as she devours the unfortunate honeybee who wandered, unsuspecting, into her wretched grasp.

poor-bee-blog.jpg

5 Responses to “The Simple Life”

  1. June Says:

    My hat’s off to ya. Not wanting to have to think about too much on the technical end – I’ve got enough to do with content! – I decided to use Typepad as my blog host. I think its parent company is the same as that of WordPress…Six Apart. Oh, and btw, I love the Andy Griffith show too.

  2. Bonnie Jacobs Says:

    Last night’s Mayberry re-run showed Andy and Barney going to their high school reunion … and Thelma Lou showed up, married. As far as I’m concerned, Paris is a city in France … lol.

  3. lucky pennies Says:

    Are you saying that there are actually blogs dedicated to those tramps? I didn’t know that show was still around. It’s basically about how they never knew that one could actually buy a pair of pants that cost less than $100, or that there was such a thing as Walmart.

  4. lucky pennies Says:

    Hahaha, by the way, I like your tongue-in-cheek honey bee/spider metaphor.

  5. Shannon Hodgins Says:

    Oh Lord, you just got me on your first page. I think you just gained a regular new reader. Your quite a stitch. And ah, yep. Be glad you have limited reception. The Simple Life really isn’t a pretty sight, and I hate that the term, “simple life” is now fraught with issues. Shannon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers